11105529D SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 34

Offered February 25, 2011 Commending Wood Brothers Racing.

Patrons—Reynolds, Houck, Puckett and Smith; Delegates: Armstrong, Marshall, D.W. and Merricks

Unanimous consent to introduce

WHEREAS, Wood Brothers Racing celebrated its fifth Daytona 500 victory when Trevor Bayne raced across the finish line before more than a hundred thousand fans at Daytona International Speedway on February 20, 2011; and

WHEREAS, founded in 1950 in the small town of Stuart in Patrick County, Wood Brothers Racing is the oldest continuously operating NASCAR cup team; and

WHEREAS, Wood Brothers Racing began when Glen and Leonard Wood bought an old car to race, parking it underneath a now almost 150-year-old beech tree in the yard of their father, Jay Walter Wood, and using a chain they had thrown over the lowest limb to lift out the engine; and

WHEREAS, Glen Wood went on to race competitively, gaining recognition as one of NASCAR's 50 Greatest Drivers before becoming owner of Wood Brothers Racing in 1965, while his brother Leonard built the cars' engines and orchestrated the team's famously quick pit stops; and

WHEREAS, over the years, Wood Brothers Racing developed into a powerful operation with racing giants David Pearson, Cale Yarborough, and Ned Jarrett driving its cars; and

WHEREAS, before Trevor Bayne, Wood Brothers Racing has had four other drivers in the victory lane at the Daytona 500—Tiny Lund in 1963, Cale Yarborough in 1968, A.J. Foyt in 1972, and David Pearson in 1976; and

WHEREAS, in 2011, Wood Brothers Racing partnered with Roush Fenway Racing (RFR) to buy Ford cars and utilize RFR engineering, which proved to be a winning partnership; and

WHEREAS, Wood Brothers Racing retrofitted a Ford car to resemble that of its last Daytona 500 winning car, driven by David Pearson; and

WHEREAS, the rookie Trevor Bayne, just 20 years old, thrilled fans in an overtime win, expertly maneuvering away from and around wrecks and spinouts to take the lead and cross the finish line as the youngest driver to win the Daytona 500 and become the Wood Brothers Racing team's fifth Daytona 500 winner; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED by the Senate of Virginia, That Wood Brothers Racing be hereby commended for its spectacular success at the February 20, 2011, Daytona 500; and, be it

RESOLVED FURTHER, That the Clerk of the Senate prepare a copy of this resolution for presentation to Wood Brothers Racing as an expression of the Senate of Virginia's congratulations and best wishes for its future racing success.