SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 424

Commending the Fairfax Stars U12 Girls National basketball team.

Agreed to by the Senate, February 10, 2011 Agreed to by the House of Delegates, February 18, 2011

WHEREAS, the Fairfax Stars U12 Girls National basketball team captured their third consecutive Amateur Athletic Union Division I National championship on July 7, 2010; and

WHEREAS, Aggie McCormick founded the Fairfax Stars basketball program in 1996 to increase the opportunities for young girls to become successful student athletes in a positive atmosphere; and

WHEREAS, the Fairfax Stars basketball program has gained national renown, produced championship teams, and established a legacy of disciplined, competitive play; and

WHEREAS, since the inaugural 1997 season, more than 3,000 athletes have participated in the Fairfax Stars basketball program; and

WHEREAS, the volunteer organizers, coaches, and trainers of the Fairfax Stars basketball program give generously of their time to foster skills, knowledge, and a love of basketball in their dedicated athletes; and

WHEREAS, having won the national U10 championship in 2008 and successfully defended their title in the U11 championship in 2009, the Fairfax Stars U12 Girls National basketball team finished their regular 2010 season of play with a winning record of 55-3; and

WHEREAS, with an impressive record of 35-3 against teams in older age groups, the Fairfax Stars were no strangers to challenging play when they took the court in Rochester, Minnesota, for championship play; and

WHEREAS, the Fairfax Stars conquered every opponent in the 12 and under national championship in 2010, defeating the Arkansas Elite 63-60 in a close championship final and finishing their season with a triumphant 62-3 record; and

WHEREAS, led by Coach Bob Dix and assisted by Lauren Arthur, players on the roster for the 2010 Fairfax Stars U12 Girls National basketball team include Taylor Murray, Sharon Hull, Kelly Koshuta, Lindsey Abed, Karlie Cronin, Lauren Turner, Jessica Daguilh, Raven Lott, Marta Sniezek, Leeah Betourd, Stephanie Jones, and Breeja Wilkins; and

WHEREAS, the championship performance of the Fairfax Stars can be attributed to the respect, discipline, and teamwork of the players and also to the support and encouragement of their families, coaches, and loyal fans; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED by the Senate, the House of Delegates concurring, That the General Assembly commend the Fairfax Stars U12 Girls National basketball team for their third consecutive Amateur Athletic Union Division I National championship; and, be it

RESOLVED FURTHER, That the Clerk of the Senate prepare a copy of this resolution for presentation to Bob Dix, coach of the Fairfax Stars U12 Girls National basketball team, as an expression of the General Assembly's congratulations on their athletic achievement and best wishes for their future endeavors.