HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 916

Commending the Fairfax County Public Schools winners of the Governor's Award for Educational Excellence, Board of Education Excellence Award, and Board of Education Competence to Excellence Award.

Agreed to by the House of Delegates, February 18, 2011 Agreed to by the Senate, February 24, 2011

WHEREAS, the Fairfax County Public Schools system and many schools in Fairfax County were among the nine school divisions and 728 schools to receive the prestigious Governor's Award for Educational Excellence, Board of Education Excellence Award, and Board of Education Competence to Excellence Award in 2011; and

WHEREAS, Louise Archer Elementary School, Rachel Carson Middle School, Chesterbrook Elementary School, James Fenimore Cooper Middle School, Fox Mill Elementary School, Franklin Middle School, Robert Frost Middle School, Hunt Valley Elementary School, Joyce Kilmer Middle School, Langley High School, Lees Corner Elementary School, Liberty Middle School, Henry Wadsworth Longfellow Middle School, Mantua Elementary School, Mosby Woods Elementary School, Oakton Elementary School, Oakton High School, Rocky Run Middle School, Spring Hill Elementary School, Henry David Thoreau Middle School, West Springfield Elementary School, Westbriar Elementary School, Wolftrap Elementary School, and Wilbert Tucker Woodson High School were among the 110 outstanding Virginia public schools that were awarded the Governor's Award for Educational Excellence; and

WHEREAS, the Fairfax County Public Schools division was among the eight school divisions and Buzz Aldrin Elementary School, Armstrong Elementary School, Bren Mar Park Elementary School, Canterbury Woods Elementary School, Chantilly High School, Cherry Run Elementary School, Churchill Road Elementary School, Clermont Elementary School, Clifton Elementary School, Colvin Run Elementary School, Cub Run Elementary School, Daniels Run Elementary School, Fairfax High School, Fairfax Villa Elementary School, Fairhill Elementary School, Flint Hill Elementary School, Floris Elementary School, Forestville Elementary School, Franconia Elementary School, Great Falls Elementary School, Greenbriar East Elementary School, Greenbriar West Elementary School, Haycock Elementary School, Kent Gardens Elementary School, Kings Glen Elementary School, Lake Braddock Secondary School, Sidney Lanier Middle School, Laurel Ridge Elementary School, Lemon Road Elementary School, James Madison High School, George C. Marshall High School, Marshall Road Elementary School, McLean High School, Navy Elementary School, Oak Hill Elementary School, Orange Hunt Elementary School, Poplar Tree Elementary School, Colin L. Powell Elementary School, James. W. Robinson Secondary School, Rolling Valley Elementary School, Sangster Elementary School, Franklin Sherman Elementary School, Shrevewood Elementary School, Sleepy Hollow Elementary School, South County Secondary School, Springfield Estates Elementary School, Stenwood Elementary School, Sunrise Valley Elementary School, Thomas Jefferson High School for Science and Technology, Union Mill Elementary School, Vienna Elementary School, Virginia Run Elementary School, Wakefield Forest Elementary School, Waples Mill Elementary School, Waynewood Elementary School, West Springfield High School, Westgate Elementary School, and Willow Springs Elementary School were among the 323 schools that earned the Board of Education Excellence Award; and

WHEREAS, Cameron Elementary School, A. Scott Crossfield Elementary School, Fairview Elementary School, Falls Church High School, Fort Belvoir Elementary School, Hayfield Elementary School, Luther Jackson Middle School, Francis Scott Key Middle School, Kings Park Elementary School, McNair Elementary School, Mount Eagle Elementary School, North Springfield Elementary School, Pine Spring Elementary School, Terra Centre Elementary School, Terraset Elementary School, and Mark Twain Middle School were among the 289 schools to earn the Board of Education Competence to Excellence Award; and

WHEREAS, the outstanding achievement of all the public schools honored with these awards is a tribute to the dedication, perseverance, and commitment of the faculties, students, and parents of each notable school and the citizens of Fairfax County; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED by the House of Delegates, the Senate concurring, That the General Assembly commend the Fairfax County Public Schools division and the many schools in Fairfax County that received these prestigious awards in 2011; and, be it

RESOLVED FURTHER, That the Clerk of the House of Delegates prepare a copy of this resolution for presentation to Superintendent Jack D. Dale of the Fairfax County Public Schools as an expression of the General Assembly's appreciation of each school's commitment to academic excellence and to the

young people of Fairfax County.