## 11104171D

**6** 

## **HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 776**

Offered January 31, 2011

Commending the Mills E. Godwin High School girls' tennis team.

Patrons-Massie, Janis and O'Bannon; Senator: Stosch

WHEREAS, on June 5, 2010, the Mills E. Godwin High School Eagles girls' tennis team captured their ninth Virginia High School League, Group AAA state championship and ended an undefeated 22-game season on a resounding note of triumph; and

WHEREAS, on the road to victory, the Godwin High School Eagles won the team's eleventh consecutive regional title when they outplayed the Atlee High School Raiders 5 - 1 in the Central Region Championship; and

WHEREAS, having appeared in nine consecutive finals, the Godwin High School Eagles of Henrico County defeated the McLean High School Highlanders 5 - 1, clinching a seventh state title for the Eagles in nine years; and

WHEREAS, with nine state titles to their name, the Godwin High School Eagles hold more state titles in tennis than any other school in the Commonwealth; and

WHEREAS, the Godwin High School Eagles won 165 of 184 matches during the 2010 season, an astounding 89.7 percent; during the state championship tournament, the Eagles won 15 of 16 matches; and

WHEREAS, sporting an amazing 84 - 1 team record and a 98.8 percent win record, seniors Michelle Akerman, Meg Kristofak, Kate Larsen, Olivia Long, and Nicole Parker claimed four district championships, four regional championships, and four state titles during their four-year career; and

WHEREAS, with a stellar 16 - 2 record, dynamic duo Nicole Parker and Kelly Stewart won the doubles district championship and were doubles state finalists; and

WHEREAS, with a winning 24 - 4 record, singles regional champion, Nicole Parker, made her fellow Eagles proud when she advanced to the state championship semifinals; and

WHEREAS, members on the roster of the hardworking 2010 Mills E. Godwin High School Eagles girls' tennis team were Michelle Akerman, Jesse Dominick, Jane Fellowes, Faaron Goan, Brittany Hsieh, Jessica Kocen, Meg Kristofak, Kate Larsen, Olivia Long, Peyton Manchester, Sarah Miller, Haley Moses, Nicole Parker, Abigail Randolph, Becky Seidel, Haylee Seidenberg, Kelly Stewart, Elly Weber, Alexandra Wilder, and Maddie Wood; and

WHEREAS, the dynastic championship performance of the 2010 Eagles is a tribute not only to the talent, commitment, and continued perseverance of the players, but also to the leadership of Head Coach Mark Seidenberg and his assistant coaches, Jackie Holt and Eddie Parker, and the support of the parents, students, and faculty of Mills E. Godwin High School; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED by the House of Delegates, the Senate concurring, That the General Assembly hereby commend the undefeated Mills E. Godwin High School Eagles on winning the 2010 Virginia High School League, Group AAA state championship; and, be it

RESOLVED FURTHER, That the Clerk of the House of Delegates prepare a copy of this resolution for presentation to Head Coach Mark Seidenberg as an expression of the General Assembly's admiration for the outstanding performance of the 2010 Mills E. Godwin High School girls' tennis team.