VIRGINIA ACTS OF ASSEMBLY -- 2011 SESSION

CHAPTER 514

An Act to amend and reenact § 15.2-5370 of the Code of Virginia, relating to Southwest Virginia Health Authority; appointments.

[H 2478]

Approved March 24, 2011

Be it enacted by the General Assembly of Virginia:

1. That § 15.2-5370 of the Code of Virginia is amended and reenacted as follows:

§ 15.2-5370. Directors; qualifications; terms; vacancies.

The Authority shall be governed by a board of directors in which all powers of the Authority shall be vested. The Authority shall consist of members as follows:

The Executive Director for the Coalfield Economic Development Authority, or his designee;

The Chief Executive Officer of the Norton Community Hospital located in the City of Norton, Virginia, or his designee;

One representative from the Lonesome Pine Hospital;

The Chief Executive Officer of the Virginia Community Healthcare Association, or his designee;

The Chief Executive Officer of the Russell County Medical Center, or his designee;

The District Health Director for the Cumberland Health District, or his designee;

The District Health Director for the LENOWISCO Health District, or his designee;

The Dean of the University of Virginia School of Medicine, or his designee;

The Dean of the School of Dentistry at the Medical College of Virginia of Virginia Commonwealth University, or his designee;

The Dean of the Lincoln Memorial University-DeBusk College of Osteopathic Medicine, or his designee;

The Chancellor of the University of Virginia's College at Wise, or his designee;

The President of the East Tennessee State University Quillen College of Medicine, or his designee;

The President of Frontier Health, or his designee;

The President of the University of Appalachia College of Pharmacy, or his designee;

The President of the Edward Via Virginia College of Osteopathic Medicine, or his designee;

The Chairman of the Board of the Southwest Virginia Graduate Medical Education Consortium, or his designee;

Two members of the Senate to be appointed by the Senate Committee on Rules;

Two members of the House of Delegates to be appointed by the Speaker of the House of Delegates in accordance with the principles of proportional representation contained in the Rules of the House of Delegates; and

One member for each participating locality; provided that each such member shall be appointed initially as follows: the representatives of Buchanan and Dickenson Counties being appointed for one-year terms; the representatives of Lee County and the City of Norton being appointed for two-year terms; the representatives of Russell and Scott Counties being appointed for three-year terms; and the representatives of Tazewell and Wise Counties being appointed for four-year terms. Subsequent appointments shall be for terms of four years, except appointments to fill vacancies shall be for the unexpired terms. All terms of office shall be deemed to commence upon the date of the initial appointment to the Authority, and thereafter in accordance with the provisions of the preceding sentence. If, at the end of any term of office of any director a successor thereto has not been appointed, then the director whose term of office has expired shall continue to hold office until his successor is appointed and qualified. Each director shall, upon appointment or reappointment, before entering upon his duties take and subscribe the oath prescribed by § 49-1.

The directors shall elect from their membership a chairman and a vice-chairman and from their membership or not, as they desire, a secretary and a treasurer or a secretary-treasurer, who shall continue to hold such office until their respective successors are elected.