DEPARTMENT OF TAXATION
2010 Fiscal Impact Statement

1. Patron Scott A. Surovell 2. Bill Number HB 820
House of Origin:
3. Committee Senate Finance Introduced
Substitute
Engrossed
4. Title Cigarette Tax; Penalties for Unstamped
Cigarettes Second House:
X In Committee

Substitute
Enrolled

5. Summary/Purpose:

This bill would reduce and simplify the penalties related to unstamped cigarettes. The bill
would provide that stamping agents who fail to properly affix revenue stamps be required
to pay a penalty of $2.50 per pack, up to $500, for the first violation by a legal entity within
a 36 month period, $5 per pack, up to $1,000, for the second violation by the legal entity
within a 36 month period, and $10 per pack, up to $50,000, for the third or subsequent
violation by the legal entity within a 36 month period. The stamping agent would be
required to pay a civil penalty of $25 per pack, up to $250,000, where willful intent exists
to defraud. Persons other than stamping agents who sell, purchase, transport, receive, or
possess unstamped cigarettes, except as otherwise provided by law, would also be
subject to the same civil penalties.

The bill would also codify TAX's current policy not to penalize both stamping agents and
retailers for the same unstamped cigarettes.

The effective date of this bill is not specified.
6. Fiscal Impact: Unknown (See Line 8.)
7. Budget amendment necessary: No.
8. Fiscal implications:

Administrative Costs

TAX would not incur any costs in the implementation of this bill.

Revenue Impact

The revenue impact of this bill is unknown, but minimal. The current penalty structure
results in penalties so large that taxpayers typically appeal them to the Tax
Commissioner, file an offer in compromise to pay less than the full amount of the penalty,
or are unable to pay them at all. While this proposal would reduce the penalties for
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unstamped cigarettes, the bill may increase the likelihood that taxpayers will actually pay
the penalty.

9. Specific agency or political subdivisions affected:
Department of Taxation
10.Technical amendment necessary: No.

11.Other comments:

Background

In recent years, TAX has discovered numerous situations where stamping agents fail to
affix stamps to cigarettes due to machine error or where stamping agents inadvertently
ship unstamped cigarettes to retailers due to human error. TAX typically discovers these
unstamped cigarettes when it audits cigarette retailers. Although in a very limited number
of cases, TAX has determined that the possession of unstamped cigarettes by retailers
was motivated by an intent to evade the tax, in the vast majority of these cases, TAX has
determined that the unstamped cigarettes were due to machine error or negligence. TAX
has worked with stamping agents to develop policies to ameliorate this situation. As a
result, TAX has issued two Tax Bulletins, Virginia Tax Bulletin 07-3 (March 15, 2007) and
Virginia Tax Bulletin 08-13 (December 11, 2008), setting out more relaxed penalty
structures.

In addition, TAX has issued procedures to allow retailers who have been audited by TAX
and found to possess unstamped cigarettes to obtain affidavits from stamping agents
stating that the stamping agent was the source of the unstamped cigarettes. Once a
stamping agent has issued such an affidavit, TAX will typically issue a warning letter or
penalty to the stamping agent instead of the retailer. The stamping agent may then file an
appeal or offer-in-compromise with TAX and seek a reduction or abatement of the
penalty. Despite these efforts to come up with a workable penalty structure, stamping
agents and retailers are still filing administrative appeals regarding unstamped cigarette
audits in almost every instance.

In addition to criminal penalties, the Code of Virginia currently provides very stiff civil
penalties for cigarette stamping agents who fail to affix Virginia revenue stamps to
cigarettes and to other persons who sell, purchase, transport, receive, or possess
unstamped cigarettes with the intent to evade the tax. Stamping agents who fail to
properly affix revenue stamps are currently subject to a civil penalty of $250 a pack if the
amount of unstamped cigarettes is 100 packs or less, and $500 a pack if the amount of
unstamped cigarettes exceeds 100 packs. Where willful intent to defraud the
Commonwealth of the cigarette tax exists, the stamping agent is subject to a penalty of
$2,500 a pack. Any other person who sells, purchases, transports, receives or possesses
unstamped cigarettes for the purpose of evading the tax is subject to a civil penalty of up
to $500 a pack if the amount of unstamped cigarettes is less than 3,000 packs, and up to
$2,500 a pack if the amount of unstamped cigarettes is 3,000 packs or more.
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The industry typically packages 10 packs of 20 cigarettes in each carton, and 50 cartons
in each master case. As the state tax is currently imposed at a rate of $0.30 per pack of
20 cigarettes, if TAX discovers one case of unstamped cigarettes in a retail location, the
statutory civil penalty could be as much as $250,000 even though the unpaid state tax is
only $150. If TAX discovers 3,000 unstamped packs, the minimum amount for a retailer
to be subject to the highest penalty, the statutory penalty could be as much as $7.5
million, although the tax owed would only be $900. Under this bill, the penalty would be
$500 for both situations, if it was a first violation.

Most states use criminal prosecutions to enforce compliance with their cigarette tax law.
Virginia and Alabama are among a very few states in the country which use heavy civil
penalties to enforce compliance with their cigarette tax laws. A few states, including
Louisiana and lowa, have adopted similar graduated penalty structures.

Proposal

This bill would reduce and simplify the penalties related to unstamped cigarettes. The bill
would provide that stamping agents who fail to properly affix revenue stamps be required
to pay a penalty of $2.50 per pack, up to $500, for the first violation by a legal entity within
a 36 month period, $5 per pack, up to $1,000, for the second violation by the legal entity
within a 36 month period, and $10 per pack, up to $50,000, for the third or subsequent
violation by the legal entity within a 36 month period. The stamping agent would be
required to pay a civil penalty of $25 per pack, up to $250,000, where willful intent exists
to defraud. Persons other than stamping agents who sell, purchase, transport, receive, or
possess unstamped cigarettes, except as otherwise provided by law, would also be
subject to the same civil penalties.

The bill would also codify TAX's current policy not to penalize both stamping agents and
retailers for the same unstamped cigarettes.

The effective date of this bill is not specified.

Similar Legislation

Senate Bill 476 is identical to this bill.

House Bill 874 would change the time for affixing tax stamps to cigarette packs from one
business day after receipt to prior to shipping to other wholesale dealers or retail outlets.
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