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1. Bill Number:   HB 770 

 House of Origin        Introduced        Substitute        Engrossed 

 Second House       In Committee        Substitute   X     Enrolled 
 

2.  Patron: Cleaveland 

 

3.  Committee: Passed both houses 
 

4. Title: Arrests without warrant 

 

5. Summary:   

 

  Current law authorizes an officer, under certain conditions, to arrest, without a warrant, a 

person whom he has probable cause to suspect was operating a watercraft or motor boat 

while intoxicated and in his presence.  The law also authorizes an officer to arrest without a 

warrant, within three hours of an accident involving a motor vehicle, any person whom the 

officer has probable cause to suspect of operating the vehicle. 

 

  The proposed language would enlarge this authority to allow an officer to arrest without 

warrant, within three hours of the alleged offense, any person whom the officer has probable 

cause to suspect of driving a motor vehicle, watercraft, or motorboat while intoxicated, 

regardless of whether the offense was committed in the officer’s presence and without regard 

to whether an accident was involved. 

 

6. Fiscal Impact Estimates:  Final. 

6a. Expenditure Impact:   

Fiscal Year Dollars Fund  

    

2011 $50,000 General  

2012 $0   

2013 $0   

2014 $0   

2015 $0   

2016 $0   

 

7. Budget Amendment Necessary:   Yes.  Item 380.  The conferees did not include funding for 

this bill in their amendments to the budget bill. 

  

8. Fiscal Implications:    

 

 Depending on the number of convictions and the offender’s blood alcohol level at the 

time of the offense, driving while intoxicated can be either a Class 1 misdemeanor or a Class 



6 felony.  Anyone convicted of a Class 1 misdemeanor is subject to a sentence of up to 12 

months in jail.  For someone convicted of a Class 6 felony, a judge has the option of 

sentencing him to up to one year in jail, or 1 to 5 years in prison.  Because this proposal could 

result in an increase in the number of persons arrested for driving while intoxicated, it could 

result in an increase in the number of persons sentenced to jail or prison. 

 

 There is not enough information available to reliably estimate how many additional 

inmates in jail could result from this proposal.  Any increase in jail population will increase 

costs to the state.  The Commonwealth presently pays the localities $8.00 a day for each 

misdemeanant or otherwise local responsible prisoner held in a jail.  It also funds most of the 

jails’ operating costs, e.g. correctional officers.  The state’s share of these costs on a per 

prisoner, per day basis varies from locality to locality. However, according to the 

Compensation Board’s most recent Jail Cost Report (November 2009), the estimated total 

state support for local jails averaged $32.66 per inmate, per day in FY 2008. 

 

 Due to the lack of data, the Virginia Criminal Sentencing Commission has concluded, 

pursuant to §30-19.1:4 of the Code of Virginia, that the impact of the proposed legislation on 

state-responsible (prison) bed space cannot be determined.  In such cases, Chapter 781 of the 

2009 Acts of Assembly requires that a minimum impact of $50,000 be assigned to the bill. 

 

9. Specific Agency or Political Subdivisions Affected:   

 

 Department of Corrections 

 Local and regional jails 

  

10. Technical Amendment Necessary:  None. 

  

11. Other Comments:  None. 
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