SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 20

Commending the Cave Spring High School boys' basketball team.

Agreed to by the Senate, March 14, 2010

WHEREAS, the 2010 Cave Spring High School boys' basketball team from Roanoke capped an outstanding season by winning the Virginia High School League Group AA, Division 3 state basketball championship on March 13, 2010; and

WHEREAS, after defeating New Kent High School in the semifinals, the Cave Spring High School Knights faced Brunswick High School for the second consecutive year in the state championship tournament; and

WHEREAS, the talented Knights defeated the Brunswick High School team (54-43) to win the team's second consecutive and third overall state championship tournament before an enthusiastic crowd at Virginia Commonwealth University's Siegel Center; and

WHEREAS, the Cave Spring High School team was led by Clay Lacy who scored 21 points, including four three-pointers in the first half that led the Knights to a 29-18 lead at the end of the first half; and

WHEREAS, with only eight minutes left in the game, the teams were tied at 31, but the Knights again rose to the occasion and with great tenacity defeated the Brunswick High School Bulldogs to win the state championship; and

WHEREAS, the entire team worked hard throughout the season and championship tournaments and contributed to the Knights remarkable success; and

WHEREAS, the triumphant performance of the 2010 Knights is a tribute to the talent, dedication, and perseverance of the players; the leadership of Coach Billy Hicks and his staff; and the support of the parents, student body, and faculty and leadership of Cave Spring High School; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED by the Senate of Virginia, That the Cave Spring High School boys' basketball team hereby be commended for its Group AA Division 3 state championship win; and, be it

RESOLVED FURTHER, That the Clerk of the Senate prepare a copy of this resolution for presentation to Head Coach Billy Hicks as an expression of the Senate of Virginia's congratulations and admiration for the team's outstanding season and championship performance.