## **HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 456**

Commending the Carlisle School golf team.

Agreed to by the House of Delegates, March 10, 2010 Agreed to by the Senate, March 12, 2010

WHEREAS, Martinsville's Carlisle School golf team capped an outstanding 2009 season by winning the Virginia Independent Schools Athletic Association (VISAA) Division I state golf tournament championship; and

WHEREAS, the Carlisle School golf team, with a four-man total of 307, defeated Woodberry Forest by three strokes to win the state championship title at the Fauquier Springs Country Club in Warrenton;

and

WHEREAS, the team was led by juniors Dylan Jensen, Alex Wise, Jack Adkins, and Cole Rothrock and the entire team worked hard and made significant contributions in the championship tournament and throughout the season; Coach Robert Weinerth was named Coach of the Year; and

WHEREAS, the championship win was the Carlisle School's second consecutive state championship, and as 2009 marked only the second year of the VISAA state golf tournament, the Carlisle School is the

only name on the trophy; and

WHEREAS, the triumphant performance of the 2009 Chiefs is a tribute to the dedication and perseverance of the players; the leadership of Head Coach Robert Weinerth and his staff; and the support of the parents, student body, and faculty of the Carlisle School; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED by the House of Delegates, the Senate concurring, That the General Assembly commend and congratulate the Carlisle School golf team as the Virginia Independent Schools Athletic

Association Division I state golf tournament champions; and, be it

RESOLVED FURTHER, That the Clerk of the House of Delegates prepare a copy of this resolution for presentation to Head Coach Robert Weinerth as an expression of the General Assembly's admiration for the Carlisle School golf team's outstanding 2009 season.