2010 SESSION

HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 235

Commending Head Coach Frank Beamer and the Virginia Tech football team.

Agreed to by the House of Delegates, February 12, 2010 Agreed to by the Senate, February 18, 2010

WHEREAS, Head Coach Frank Beamer and the Virginia Tech football team ended 2009 by defeating the University of Tennessee Volunteers 37 - 14 in the Chick-fil-A Bowl held at the Georgia Dome in Atlanta, Georgia; and

WHEREAS, the victory marked the first time in Frank Beamer's 23 years as head coach that Virginia Tech has won back-to-back bowl games and capped the sixth consecutive double-digit-win season for the Hokies, with a record of 10 - 3; and

WHEREAS, before a crowd of more than 73,000, the Hokies' strong defense, led by the bowl's defensive player of the game Cody Grimm, shut down the Volunteers, who were unable to score in the second half; and

WHEREAS, tailback Ryan Williams led the offense with two touchdowns and finished the season with 1,655 yards, breaking the school's single-season rushing record; and

WHEREAS, quarterback Tyrod Taylor and David Wilson also scored while Matt Waldron proved to be a reliable kicker; and

WHEREAS, the talented Virginia Tech team members worked diligently throughout the season and provided their fans with another amazing performance in a bowl game; and

WHEREAS, the triumphant performance of the 2009 Virginia Tech football team is a tribute to the perseverance of the players; the leadership of Head Coach Frank Beamer and his staff; and the support of the enthusiastic students, faculty, alumni, and fans; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED by the House of Delegates, the Senate concurring, That the General Assembly commend Head Coach Frank Beamer and the Virginia Tech football team as the winners of the Chick-fil-A Bowl; and, be it

RESOLVED FURTHER, That the Clerk of the House of Delegates prepare a copy of this resolution for presentation to Head Coach Frank Beamer as an expression of the General Assembly's congratulations and admiration for the Virginia Tech football team's championship performance.