2010 SESSION

10104579D **HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 221** 1 2 Offered February 2, 2010 3 Commending the Radford High School boys' basketball team. 4 Patron-Nutter 5 6 WHEREAS, the 2009 Radford High School boys' basketball team showed exemplary skill throughout 7 the regular season, posting a perfect 10 - 0 record in regular season play in the Three Rivers District; 8 and 9 WHEREAS, the team continued to pursue excellence by playing the toughest nondistrict competition 10 possible, including a 77 - 71 win over Group AA State Champion Cave Spring High School early in the 11 season: and WHEREAS, Radford High School dominated the Christmas Tournament held in Wythe County, 12 including a decisive 89 - 42 win over defending Group A State Champion George Wythe High School before ultimately topping Auburn High School 79 - 71 to clinch the tournament; and 13 14 15 WHEREAS, the team easily defeated Eastern Montgomery 85 - 64 to earn an automatic number one seed in the Region C Tournament, where they proceeded to crush Patrick Henry High School-Glade 16 Spring High School and Chilhowie High School by scores of 91 - 59 and 85 - 56, respectively; and 17 WHEREAS, the team lost a heartbreaker to James River High School by a score of 74 - 72 in the 18 19 Region C Tournament finals, forcing Radford to battle back and beat Region D champion Castlewood 20 High School 64 - 42 for a state semifinal berth; and 21 WHEREAS, Radford High School faced off against James River High School for a second time, rallying in the final minutes to tie the game with 18 seconds to go; a quick steal and bank shot with just 22 23 0.3 seconds on the clock lifted Radford High School to a thrilling 54 - 52 victory and a trip to the state 24 championship game; and 25 WHEREAS, the team faced Dan River High School in the finals, making 10 three-pointers and 26 leading the entire game to finish with a 77 - 69 win and the title of 2009 Group A Division 2 State 27 Champion; and WHEREAS, the team concluded the season with an impressive 26 - 4 record and the additional 28 29 distinction of being the first Radford High School boys' basketball team to earn a state title since 1949; 30 and 31 WHEREAS, the 2009 Radford High School boys' basketball team was made up of Jerome Alexander, Dontae Carter, Cory Collins, Allen Dickerson, Jake Giesen, Scotty Hendricks, Marcus 32 33 Martin, Tyler Matusevich, Josh Smith, DeAndre Thompson, and Jon Thompson; and WHEREAS, the team was ably led throughout the season by Head Coach Rick Cormany and 34 35 assistant coaches Tommy Hilton, Bill Nichols, Ben Fisher, and Jeff Little; now, therefore, be it 36 RESOLVED by the House of Delegates, the Senate concurring, That the General Assembly 37 commend the Radford High School boys' basketball team on its outstanding season; and, be it 38 RESOLVED FURTHER, That the Clerk of the House of Delegates prepare a copy of this resolution 39 for presentation to Head Coach Rick Cormany as an expression of the General Assembly's 40 congratulations on the team's championship performance.

INTRODUCED