## VIRGINIA ACTS OF ASSEMBLY — CHAPTER

An Act to amend and reenact §§ 15.2-5370 and 15.2-5371 of the Code of Virginia, relating to Southwest Virginia Health Authority; appointments; quorum.

4 [H 1187]

Approved

Be it enacted by the General Assembly of Virginia:

1. That §§ 15.2-5370 and 15.2-5371 of the Code of Virginia are amended and reenacted as follows:

§ 15.2-5370. Directors; qualifications; terms; vacancies.

The Authority shall be governed by a board of directors in which all powers of the Authority shall be vested. The Authority shall consist of members as follows:

The Executive Director for the Coalfield Economic Development Authority, or his designee;

The Chief Executive Officer of the Norton Community Hospital located in the City of Norton, Virginia, or his designee;

One representative from the Lonesome Pine Hospital;

The Chief Executive Officer of the Virginia Community Healthcare Association, or his designee;

The Chief Executive Officer of the Russell County Medical Center, or his designee;

The District Health Director for the Cumberland Health District, or his designee;

The District Health Director for the LENOWISCO Health District, or his designee;

The Dean of the University of Virginia School of Medicine, or his designee;

The Dean of the School of Dentistry at the Medical College of Virginia of Virginia Commonwealth University, or his designee;

The Chancellor of the University of Virginia's College at Wise, or his designee;

The President of the East Tennessee State University Quillen College of Medicine, or his designee;

The President of Frontier Health, or his designee;

The President of the University of Appalachia College of Pharmacy, or his designee;

The President of the Edward Via Virginia College of Osteopathic Medicine, or his designee;

Two members of the Senate to be appointed by the Senate Committee on Rules;

Two members of the House of Delegates to be appointed by the Speaker of the House of Delegates in accordance with the principles of proportional representation contained in the Rules of the House of Delegates; and

One member for each participating locality; provided that each such member shall be appointed initially as follows: the representatives of Buchanan and Dickenson Counties being appointed for one-year terms; the representatives of Lee County and the City of Norton being appointed for two-year terms; the representatives of Russell and Scott Counties being appointed for three-year terms; and the representatives of Tazewell and Wise Counties being appointed for four-year terms. Subsequent appointments shall be for terms of four years, except appointments to fill vacancies shall be for the unexpired terms. All terms of office shall be deemed to commence upon the date of the initial appointment to the Authority, and thereafter in accordance with the provisions of the preceding sentence. If, at the end of any term of office of any director a successor thereto has not been appointed, then the director whose term of office has expired shall continue to hold office until his successor is appointed and qualified. Each director shall, upon appointment or reappointment, before entering upon his duties take and subscribe the oath prescribed by § 49-1.

The directors shall elect from their membership a chairman and a vice-chairman and from their membership or not, as they desire, a secretary and a treasurer or a secretary-treasurer, who shall continue to hold such office until their respective successors are elected.

§ 15.2-5371. Decisions of Authority.

A majority of the Authority, which majority shall include at least a majority of the representatives of the counties and cities embraced by the Authority, shall constitute a quorum for the purposes of conducting its business and exercising its powers and for all other purposes. Actions of the Authority shall receive the affirmative vote of a majority of the quorum to be effective. No vacancy on the Authority shall impair the right of a quorum to exercise all rights and perform all the duties of the Authority. The Authority shall determine the times and places of its regular meetings. Special meetings of the Authority shall be held when requested by two or more members of the Authority. Any such request for a special meeting shall be in writing, and the request shall specify the time and place of the meeting and the matters to be considered at the meeting. A reasonable effort shall be made to provide each member with notice of any special meeting. No matter not specified in the notice shall be

57 considered at such special meeting unless all the members of the Authority are present.