SENATE BILL NO. 878

Offered January 14, 2009 Prefiled December 30, 2008 A BILL to amend the Code of Virginia by adding in Article 5 of Chapter 30 of Title 54.1 a section

Patron—Martin

numbered 54.1-3029.1, relating to the Advisory Board on Massage Therapy.

098190268

1 **2 3**

5

7 8

9 10

11 12 13

25

6

Referred to Committee on General Laws and Technology Be it enacted by the General Assembly of Virginia:

1. That the Code of Virginia is amended by adding in Article 5 of Chapter 30 of Title 54.1 a section numbered 54.1-3029.1 as follows:

§ 54.1-3029.1. Advisory Board on Massage Therapy.

The Advisory Board on Massage Therapy shall assist the Board in carrying out the provisions of this chapter regarding the qualifications, examination, registration, regulation, and standards of professional conduct of massage therapists as described in § 54.1-3029. The Advisory Board shall also assist in such other matters relating the practice of massage therapy as the Board may require.

The Advisory Board on Massage Therapy shall consist of five members to be appointed by the Governor for four-year terms as follows: three members shall be certified massage therapists who have practiced in the Commonwealth for not less than three years prior to their appointment; one shall be an administrator or faculty member of a nationally accredited school of massage therapy; and one shall be a citizen member appointed from the Commonwealth at large.

C. The Advisory Board shall elect a chairman and vice-chairman from among its membership. A majority of the members shall constitute a quorum. The meetings of the Advisory Board shall be held at the call of the chairman or whenever the majority of the members so request.

Vacancies occurring other than by expiration of term shall be filled for the unexpired term. No person shall be eligible to serve on the Advisory Board for more than two successive terms.

2. That the initial appointments to the Advisory Board on Massage Therapy shall be staggered as follows: two members for two-year terms, two members for three-year terms, and one member for a four-year term.