090163344

1

2

3

4

5

6 7

8 9

SENATE BILL NO. 1485

Offered January 22, 2009

A BILL to amend and reenact § 2.2-2533 of the Code of Virginia, relating to the membership of the Southwest Virginia Cultural Heritage Commission.

Patron—Wampler

Referred to Committee on Rules

Be it enacted by the General Assembly of Virginia:

10 1. That § 2.2-2533 of the Code of Virginia is amended and reenacted as follows:

11 § 2.2-2533. (Expires July 1, 2011) Membership; qualifications; terms; vacancies; officers; 12 compensation.

13 A. The Commission shall have a total membership of 23 members that shall consist of five 14 legislative members, 11 nonlegislative citizen members and seven ex officio members. Members shall be 15 appointed as follows: two members of the Senate to be appointed by the Senate Committee on Rules; 16 three members of the House of Delegates to be appointed by the Speaker of the House of Delegates in accordance with the principles of proportional representation contained in the Rules of the House of 17 Delegates; two nonlegislative citizen members who shall be residents of Southwest Virginia, and two 18 nonlegislative citizen members who shall be executive directors of either Planning District Commissions 19 20 1, 2, 3, 4, or 12 or their designees, to be appointed by the Governor; one nonlegislative citizen member who shall be an elected or appointed official of the Town of Abingdon to be appointed by the Governor 21 22 upon the recommendation of the Abingdon Town Council, if any; one nonlegislative citizen member who shall be an elected or appointed official of Washington County to be appointed by the Governor 23 24 upon the recommendation of the Washington County Board of Supervisors, if any; four nonlegislative 25 citizen members who shall be artisans and members of Round the Mountain, who shall be appointed by the Governor upon the recommendation of the executive committee of Round the Mountain; and one 26 27 nonlegislative citizen member who shall represent the Ninth Congressional District and serve as a 28 member of the Virginia Commission for the Arts, to be appointed by the Governor upon the 29 recommendation of the Executive Director of the Virginia Commission for the Arts, if any. The 30 Chancellor of the Virginia Community College System, and the President of Virginia Highlands 31 Community College, the Chairman of The Crooked Road, the Chairman of Round the Mountain; the Director of the Virginia Department of Housing and Community Development, the Director of the 32 Virginia Tourism Corporation, and the Executive Director of the Southwest Virginia Higher Education 33 Center or their designees shall serve ex officio with nonvoting privileges. The Chairman of The Crooked 34 35 Road, the Chairman of Round the Mountain, the Director of the Virginia Department of Housing and 36 Community Development, the Director of the Virginia Tourism Corporation, and the Executive Director 37 of the Southwest Virginia Higher Education Center or their designees shall serve ex officio with voting 38 privileges.

B. Legislative members and ex officio members of the Commission shall serve terms coincident with
their terms of office. Appointments to fill vacancies, other than by expiration of a term, shall be for the
unexpired term. Vacancies shall be filled in the same manner as the original appointments. All members
may be reappointed.

No House member shall serve more than four consecutive two-year terms, no Senate member shall
serve more than two consecutive four-year terms, and no nonlegislative citizen member shall serve more
than two consecutive four-year terms. The remainder of any term to which a member is appointed to fill
a vacancy shall not constitute a term in determining the member's eligibility for reappointment.

C. Legislative members shall receive such compensation as provided in § 30-19.12. All members of
the Commission shall be reimbursed for all reasonable and necessary expenses incurred in the
performance of their duties as provided in §§ 2.2-2813 and 2.2-2825. Funding for the costs of
compensation and expenses of the members shall be provided by the Department of Housing and
Community Development.

52 D. The Commission shall elect a chairman and a vice-chairman from among its members and may 53 appoint such other officers as it deems necessary. The Commission shall appoint an executive committee 54 and such other committees as it deems necessary to oversee personnel and other areas related to 55 operations and the achievement of the goals of the Commission. SB1485