2009 SESSION

096682687

HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 784

Offered January 22, 2009

3 Commending the Gretna High School football team.

Patrons-Poindexter, Marshall, D.W. and Merricks; Senator: Hurt

WHEREAS, the 2008 Gretna High School football team capped an outstanding season by winning the Virginia High School League Group A, Division 2 state championship on December 6, 2008; and

8 WHEREAS, under a light snowfall, the Gretna High School Hawks (14 - 1) won the state title by defeating the Floyd County High School Buffaloes by a score of 35 - 20 before an enthusiastic crowd at

10 Salem City Stadium; and

11 WHEREAS, the Hawks' state title is the school's second straight Group A, Division 2 championship 12 win and their fourth in the last six seasons; and

WHEREAS, on their way to the state title, the Hawks captured the Region B title by beating
 Goochland High School 36 - 0 and Clarke County High School 27 - 19, and defeated Essex High
 School 45 - 40 in a challenging matchup to advance to the Division 2 final game; and

16 WHEREAS, the state title win was especially sweet for the hardworking Hawks, because the team 17 had to overcome the loss of the quarterback and many player injuries throughout the season; and

18 WHEREAS, quarterback Jayme Barksdale completed 10 of his 21 passes in the final for 171 yards19 and two touchdowns, finishing his season as a senior with almost 3,900 yards total offense; and

WHEREAS, the Hawks scored two touchdowns in the first 10 minutes of the game, the first on a
 12-yard run by sophomore Andre Dickerson and the second on a 2-yard run by junior Kwame Berger;
 and

WHEREAS, in the second quarter, sophomore linebacker Delante Hubbard recovered a Buffaloes
fumble and Gretna High School scored again before the half on a long pass to junior Commillius
Waller; and

WHEREAS, Gretna High School held the Buffaloes to only 102 yards on offense in the first half;
the second half presented a tougher assignment for the Hawks, who fought hard to win with commendable statistics of 439 yards total offense, four sacks, and two turnovers; and

WHEREAS, the rest of the Hawks—seniors Sebastian Jakob, Cory Owen, Derick Simpson, Chris
Tate, D. J. Stone, Casey Shelton, Gabriel Logan, Christian DeJarnette, Ethan Winn, Zak Dalton, Bennett
Fulper, and Trevor Vasser and underclassmen Ted Jennings, Antwan Mease, Anthony Reynolds, Kevin
Dale, Chris McCutchen, Jairen Coles, Darien Jefferson, Nicholas Miller, Rod Taylor, Demichael Boone,
Jeremy Monroe, Tyler Rouff, Steven Payne, Levi Crews, Reese Wilmoth, Travis Glass, Joe Baugh, Rory
Haskins, Coleman Osborne, and Quintez Kelly—also made valuable contributions in a tremendous team
effort in the championship games and throughout the season; and

WHEREAS, the triumphant performance of the 2008 Gretna High School football team is a tribute to
the talent, dedication, and perseverance of the players; the leadership of Head Coach Chris Thurman and
his assistant coaches Jason Hudnall, Stanley Hall, and Franklin Fitzgerald; and the support of the
students, parents, and fans of Gretna High School; now, therefore, be it

40 RESOLVED by the House of Delegates, the Senate concurring, That the General Assembly hereby
 41 commend and congratulate the Hawks from Gretna High School as Group A, Division 2 state
 42 champions; and, be it

RÉSOLVED FURTHER, That the Clerk of the House of Delegates prepare a copy of this resolution
 for presentation to Head Coach Chris Thurman as an expression of the General Assembly's admiration
 for the championship performance of the 2008 Gretna High School football team.

INTRODUCED

1 2

5 6

7