## VIRGINIA ACTS OF ASSEMBLY -- 2009 SESSION

## **CHAPTER 82**

An Act to amend and reenact § 2.2-2203 of the Code of Virginia, relating to the Virginia Commercial Space Flight Authority; membership of board of directors.

[H 1927]

Approved February 25, 2009

Be it enacted by the General Assembly of Virginia:

1. That § 2.2-2203 of the Code of Virginia is amended and reenacted as follows:

§ 2.2-2203. Board of directors; members and officers; Executive Director.

The Authority shall be governed by a board of directors consisting of twelve 13 members, four of whom shall be the President of the Center for Innovative Technology, the President of Old Dominion University, the Secretary of Commerce and Trade, and the Secretary of Technology, who shall serve as members of the Board for terms coincident with their terms of office. The remaining eight nine members shall be appointed by the Governor as follows: three four members representing the commercial space flight industry; two members representing the telecommunications industry; one member representing the County of Accomack, one member representing the County of Northampton, and one at-large member. Of the members appointed by the Governor, two shall be appointed for terms of one year, three for terms of two years, and three for terms of three years, from the effective date of their appointment. Thereafter, the members of the Board shall be appointed for terms of three years. All members of the Board appointed by the Governor shall be confirmed by each house of the General Assembly. Vacancies in the membership of the Board shall be filled by appointment for the unexpired portion of the term. Members of the Board shall be subject to removal from office in like manner as are state, county, town and district officers under the provisions of §§ 24.2-230 through 24.2-238. Immediately after appointment, the members of the Board shall enter upon the performance of their duties.

The Board shall annually elect one of its members as chairman and another as vice-chairman, a secretary, and a treasurer who need not be a member of the Board. The Board may also elect other subordinate officers, who need not be members of the Board, as it deems proper. The chairman or, in his absence, the vice-chairman shall preside at all meetings of the Board. In the absence of both the chairman and vice-chairman, the Board shall appoint a chairman pro tempore, who shall preside at such meetings. Seven members shall constitute a quorum for the transaction of the Authority's business, and no vacancy in the membership shall impair the right of a quorum to exercise all the rights and perform all the duties of the Authority.

The members of the Board shall be entitled to reimbursement for their reasonable travel, meal and lodging expenses incurred in attending the meetings of the Board or while otherwise engaged in the discharge of their duties. Such expenses shall be paid out of the treasury of the Authority upon vouchers signed by the chairman of the Board or by such other person designated by the Board for this purpose.

The Board may employ an Executive Director of the Authority, who shall serve at the pleasure of the Board, to direct the day-to-day operations and activities of the Authority and carry out the powers and duties conferred upon him by the Board. The Executive Director and employees of the Authority shall be compensated in the manner provided by the Board and shall not be subject to the provisions of the Virginia Personnel Act (§ 2.2-2900 et seq.) of this title.