## **HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 6039**

Commending the Deep Run High School boys' soccer team.

Agreed to by the House of Delegates, June 24, 2008 Agreed to by the Senate, June 25, 2008

WHEREAS, the 2008 Deep Run High School boys' soccer team capped an outstanding season by winning its first Virginia High School League Group AAA state soccer championship before an enthusiastic crowd at Westfield High School on June 7, 2008; and

WHEREAS, on a day when the temperature reached almost 100 degrees, the Deep Run Wildcats battled to victory against James W. Robinson High School, winning by one goal (1 - 0); and

WHEREAS, the Wildcats' tough defense and tenacious goalkeeper, Cameron Murray, kept the Robinson Rams from scoring, leading to the Wildcats' 17th shutout of the season; and

WHEREAS, a determined team player, senior Brian Ownby moved the ball to fellow senior Bryan Wharton, who scored the only goal of the game; and

WHEREAS, the entire team—Cameron Murray, Blake Carrey, Julian Hart, Hunter Pfister, Bobby McDonnell, Brandon Gary, Carson Yost, Rickey Siewers, Hunter Curle, Brian Ownby, Bryan Wharton, Charles Bartlett, Brandon Hauser, Zach Summers, Justin Bauersachs, Carl Weber, Matt Sharp, Ryan Dahl, Dylan Lynch, Drew Ferguson, Alec Schaffer, and Kemp Edwards—worked hard and made significant contributions throughout the season and the championship games; and

WHEREAS, the triumphant performance of the 2008 Wildcats is a tribute to the talent, dedication, and perseverance of the players; the leadership of Coach Steve Chapman and his staff; and the support of the parents, student body, faculty, and leadership of Deep Run High School; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED by the House of Delegates, the Senate concurring, That the General Assembly hereby commend and congratulate the Wildcats from Deep Run High School on their outstanding 2008 season; and, be it

RESOLVED FURTHER, That the Clerk of the House of Delegates prepare a copy of this resolution for presentation to Head Coach Steve Chapman as an expression of the General Assembly's admiration for the championship performance of the 2008 Deep Run High School boys' soccer team.