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2008 Fiscal Impact Statement 
 

1. Bill Number:   HB 597 

 House of Origin    Introduced     X   Substitute        Engrossed 

 Second House       In Committee        Substitute   X     Enrolled 
 

2. Patron: McClennan 
 

3.  Committee: Passed Both houses 
 

4. Title: Crimes; effect of subsequent marriage to child carnal knowledge victim 

 

5. Summary:  Under current law, it is a Class 4 felony to have sexual relations with a child 13 

years old or older but less than 15 years old. If the child consented to sexual intercourse, the 

law provides for a lesser penalty, depending on the difference in ages between the child and 

the perpetrator. 

  

          Furthermore, if the carnal knowledge was with the consent of the child and the child 

was 14 years old or older, the subsequent marriage of the parties may be pleaded to any 

indictment against the accused. If the court finds that the parties are married and that the 

accused is providing for the spouse, the law directs that the case be continued until the spouse 

reaches the age of 16 and then the indictment is to be dismissed. 

 

          The proposed legislation repeals the code section that provides a defense to carnal 

knowledge of a 14-year-old female when there is a subsequent marriage of the victim and the 

perpetrator. 

 

6. Fiscal Impact Estimates:  Final. See Item 8 

6a. Expenditure Impact:   
Fiscal Year Dollars Positions Fund 

2008    

2009    

2010    

2011    

2012    

2013    

2014    

6b. Revenue Impact: 
Fiscal Year Dollars Positions Fund 

2008    

2009    

2010    

2011    

2012    

2013    



2014    

 

7. Budget Amendment Necessary:   None   
  

8. Fiscal Implications:   Because the proposed legislation would remove a defense for someone 

who had had consensual sexual relations with a child between the ages of 13 and 15, it could 

result in additional persons being sentenced to jail, prison or committed to the Department of 

Juvenile Justice.   

 

  There is not enough information available to reliably estimate how many additional 

inmates in jail could result from this proposal.  Any increase in jail population will increase 

costs to the state.  The Commonwealth pays the localities $8.00 a day for each misdemeanant 

or otherwise local responsible prisoner held in a jail.  It also funds most of the jails’ operating 

costs, e.g. correctional officers.  The state’s share of these costs on a per prisoner, per day 

basis varies from locality to locality. However, according to the Compensation Board’s most 

recent Jail Cost Report (November 2007), the estimated total state support for local jails 

averaged $28.42 per inmate, per day in FY 2006. 

  Due to the lack of data on the number of people who may have used this defense in the 

past and thus potentially could be prosecuted n the future if the proposed legislation is 

enacted, the Virginia Criminal Sentencing Commission has determined, pursuant to §30-

19.1:4 of the Code of Virginia, that the impact of the proposed legislation on state-

responsible (prison) bed space cannot be determined.  However, it is expected that the impact 

will be negligible. 

            The Department of Juvenile Justice has determined the fiscal impact cannot be 

determined but is expected to be negligible. 

 

9. Specific Agency or Political Subdivisions Affected:  Department of Juvenile Justice, 

locally operated juvenile detention homes, Department of Corrections, local and 

regional jails. 

  

10. Technical Amendment Necessary:  None. 
  

11. Other Comments:  The bill eliminates subsequent marriage to a female 14 years or older 

after having consensual sexual intercourse as a defense for not being convicted of a 

violation of § 18.2-371 COV. This could provide for more delinquency adjudications for 

a Class 1 misdemeanor. Criteria for commitment to DJJ now requires a minimum of four 

separate and distinct Class 1 misdemeanors, so it is not anticipated many youth will be 

committed for this offense. Most youths committed for sexual offenses are committed for 

felonies, with the exception of sexual battery which is a Class 1 misdemeanor. 

 

           Identical to SB 608, also enrolled. 
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