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1. Bill Number   HB 567 

 House of Origin  Introduced  Substitute  Engrossed 

 Second House  In Committee  Substitute  Enrolled 
 

2. Patron Crockett-Stark 

 

3.  Committee Passed both houses 

 

4. Title Sex offenses prohibiting proximity to children 
 

5. Summary/Purpose:   

  Currently, it is a Class 6 felony for anyone convicted of a sexually violent offense to enter 

or be present, during school hours, any school or day care center, except under certain 

conditions.  The proposed legislation would expand the prohibition to make it applicable 

during school-related and school-sponsored activities, as well. 

 

6. Fiscal Impact:  Indeterminate.  See Item 8. 

 

7. Budget amendment necessary:   None. 

  

8. Fiscal implications:    
  

  For someone convicted of a Class 6 felony, a judge has the option of sentencing him to up 

to one year in jail, or 1 to 5 years in prison.  Therefore, by expanding the time during which 

sexually violent offenders are prohibited from entering a school or day care center, this 

proposal could result in an increase in the number of persons sentenced to jail or prison. 

 

  There is not enough information available to reliably estimate how many additional 

inmates in jail could result from this proposal.  Any increase in jail population will increase 

costs to the state.  The Commonwealth pays the localities $8.00 a day for each misdemeanant 

or otherwise local responsible prisoner held in a jail, $8.00 a day for each state responsible 

inmate held for sixty days or less, and $14.00 a day for each state responsible inmate held for 

more than sixty days.  It also funds most of the jails’ operating costs, e.g. correctional 

officers.  The state’s share of these costs on a per prisoner, per day basis varies from locality 

to locality. However, according to the Compensation Board’s most recent Jail Cost Report 

(November 2007), the estimated total state support for local jails averaged $28.42 per inmate, 

per day in FY 2006. 

 

  Due to the lack of data, the Virginia Criminal Sentencing Commission has determined, 

pursuant to §30-19.1:4 of the Code of Virginia, that the impact of the proposed legislation on 

state-responsible (prison) bed space cannot be determined.   



 

9. Specific agency or political subdivisions affected:    

 Department of Corrections 

 Local and regional jails 

 

10. Technical amendment necessary:   No. 

  

11. Other comments:  None. 
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