SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 201

Commending the Gretna High School football team.

Agreed to by the Senate, February 21, 2008 Agreed to by the House of Delegates, February 29, 2008

WHEREAS, the 2007 Gretna High School football team capped a perfect season by winning the Virginia High School League Group A, Division 2 state championship before an enthusiastic crowd at Salem Stadium on December 8, 2007; and

WHEREAS, the Gretna High School Hawks pounded the Gate City High School Blue Devils 52-0 to win the championship, which is the school's third state title in five years—the Hawks were also state champions in 2003 and 2004; and

WHEREAS, on its way to the Group A state title, the Gretna High School football team captured the Dogwood District and tore through Appomattox, Goochland, and King William High Schools to meet the Blue Devils in the final game of the playoffs; and

WHEREAS, freshman quarterback Nick Miller ran 58 yards to score the Hawks' first touchdown on the fourth play of the game, and he continued throughout the game to rush 21 times for 186 yards and completed seven passes for another 129 yards; and

WHEREAS, the Hawks had some impressive receptions to boast about: Tyron Bennett with four catches, Stephon Jennings with two, and Theo Miller with one, in a great offensive showing by the standout senior offense; and

WHEREAS, the powerhouse defense led by seniors Devonne Keen, Emmanuel Stone, and Tyron Haskins and sophomore Ethan Winn commandingly shut down the Blue Devils offense again and again; and

WHEREAS, in a test of strength and skill, the Hawks tallied 400 yards in total offense and the defense held the Blue Devils to fewer than 200 yards; and

WHEREAS, throughout the regular season and postseason, the Gretna High School football team was powerful on offense and punishing on defense, scoring a total of 600 points against some tough opponents and giving up a mere 100 points, and special teams made a host of stellar contributions during the Hawks undefeated season; and

WHEREAS, the Gretna High School football senior team captains are Stephon Jennings, Theo Miller, Devonne Keen, and Bryant Vennable; and

WHEREAS, other members of the extremely talented Hawks include seniors Jermaine Younger, Ted Jennings, Jermaine Reid, Courtney Clark, Shane Lucas, and underclassmen Commillious Waller, Christian Dejarnette, Andre Dickerson, Darien Jefferson, Jayme Barksdale, Kevin Dale, Kwame Berger, Zachary Dalton, Delante Hubbard, Derrick Simpson, Kell Stone, Tyler Rouff, Jerrell Witcher, Stephen Payne, Anthony Reynolds, Donald Stone, Gabriel Logan, Dionta Robinson, Caprice Stone, Bennett Fulper, Ashton White, Trevor Vasser, Tyron Haskins, and Quintez Kelly also greatly contributed to a tremendous team effort in the championship games and throughout the season; and

WHEREAS, the triumphant performance of the 2007 Hawks is a tribute to the talent, dedication, and perseverance of the players; the leadership of Head Coach Chris Thurman and his dedicated staff; and the support of the parents, students, and faculty of Gretna High School; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED by the Senate, the House of Delegates concurring, That the General Assembly hereby commend and congratulate the Hawks from Gretna High School on their outstanding 2007 season and Group A state title; and, be it

RÉSOLVED FURTHER, That the Clerk of the Senate prepare a copy of this resolution for presentation to Head Coach Chris Thurman as an expression of the General Assembly's admiration for the championship performance of the 2007 Gretna High School football team.

ENROLLED