SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 160

Confirming appointments by the Governor of certain agency heads and persons.

Agreed to by the Senate, February 25, 2008 Agreed to by the House of Delegates, March 4, 2008

RESOLVED by the Senate, the House of Delegates concurring, That the General Assembly confirm the following appointments of certain persons made by Governor Timothy M. Kaine during this 2008 Regular Session and communicated to the General Assembly January 31, 2008:

AGENCY HEADS

Karen Remley, 109 Governor Street, **Richmond,** Virginia 23219, Commissioner, Virginia Department of Health, appointed January 15, 2008, to serve at the pleasure of the Governor beginning January 22, 2008, to succeed Interim Commissioner James E. Burns.

Paula I. Otto, 900 East Main Street, **Richmond,** Virginia 23219, Director, Department of the Virginia Lottery, appointed January 25, 2008, to serve at the pleasure of the Governor beginning February 1, 2008, to succeed Interim Director Frank Snead Ferguson.

COMMERCE AND TRADE

Board of Directors, Virginia Economic Development Partnership

Jake Gosa, 325 Windsor Lane, **Winchester**, Virginia 22602, Member, appointed January 9, 2008, for a term of six years beginning January 1, 2008, and ending December 31, 2013, to succeed himself.

Hugh D. Keogh, 3402 Sarsen Court, **Midlothian,** Virginia 23113, Member, appointed January 9, 2008, for a term of six years beginning January 1, 2008, and ending December 31, 2013, to succeed John Mahone.

John Malbon, 1402 Carolyn Drive, **Virginia Beach,** Virginia 23451, Member, appointed January 9, 2008, for a term of six years beginning January 1, 2008, and ending December 31, 2013, to succeed himself

Julien G. Patterson, 2802 Pine Hollow Road, **Oakton,** Virginia 22124, Member, appointed January 9, 2008, for a term of six years beginning January 1, 2008, and ending December 31, 2013, to succeed Mary Carter.

EDUCATION

Board of Education

Isis M. Castro, 2404 Culpeper Road, **Alexandria,** Virginia 22308, Member, appointed January 15, 2008, for a term of four years beginning January 30, 2008, and ending January 29, 2012, to succeed herself.

Eleanor B. Saslaw, 4418 Random Court, **Annandale**, Virginia 22003, Member, appointed January 15, 2008, for a term of four years beginning January 30, 2008, and ending January 29, 2012, to succeed herself.

Virginia Commission for the Arts

Ann Edwards Rust, 1020 Monroe Street, **Herndon,** Virginia 20170, Member, appointed January 21, 2008, to serve an unexpired term beginning December 25, 2007, and ending June 30, 2009, to succeed Eve Wilson.

Board of Visitors of Virginia State University

Felix Davis, Jr., 15513 Chesdin Landing Place, **Chesterfield,** Virginia 23838, Member, appointed January 23, 2008, to serve an unexpired term beginning January 1, 2008, and ending June 30, 2011, to succeed William E. Ward, Ph.D.

HEALTH AND HUMAN RESOURCES

Interagency Civil Admissions Advisory Council

Susan G. Austin, Post Office Box 1071, **Marion,** Virginia 24354, Member, appointed January 30, 2008, for a term of three years beginning July 1, 2007, and ending June 30, 2010, to succeed herself.

Nan Marguerite Joseph-Forbes, 341 West Main Street, Purcellville, Virginia 20132, Member, appointed January 30, 2008, for a term of three years beginning July 1, 2007, and ending June 30, 2010, to succeed herself.

Gary S. Kavit, 139 Beechwood Hills, Newport News, Virginia 23608, Member, appointed January 30, 2008, for a term of three years beginning July 1, 2007, and ending June 30, 2010, to succeed

himself.

Eileen Kulp, 26 Sarfan Drive, Hampton, Virginia 23664, Member, appointed January 30, 2008, for

a term of three years beginning July 1, 2007, and ending June 30, 2010, to succeed herself.

Philip Pate, 453 North Braddock Street, Winchester, Virginia 22601, Member, appointed January 30, 2008, for a term of three years beginning July 1, 2007, and ending June 30, 2010, to succeed himself.

LEGISLATIVE

Virginia Code Commission

Cleo Elaine Powell, 11710 Braystone Lane, Chesterfield, Virginia 23838, Member, appointed January 23, 2008, to serve an unexpired term beginning October 10, 2007, and ending January 31, 2011, to succeed Samuel Bernard Goodwyn.

INDEPENDENT

State Lottery Board

David H. Hallock, Jr., 8911 Brieryle Road, Richmond, Virginia 23229, Member, appointed January 9, 2008, for a term of five years beginning January 15, 2008, and ending January 14, 2013, to succeed himself.

COMPACTS

Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission

Lynwood W. Lewis, Jr., 23239 Front Street, Accomac, Virginia 23301, Member, appointed January 16, 2008, to serve at the pleasure of the Governor beginning January 1, 2008, to succeed John Chichester.