2008 SESSION

087690814 **SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 160** 1 2 Offered February 5, 2008 3 Confirming appointments by the Governor of certain agency heads and persons. 4 Patron—Howell 5 6 Referred to Committee on Privileges and Elections 7 RESOLVED by the Senate, the House of Delegates concurring, That the General Assembly confirm 8 the following appointments of certain persons made by Governor Timothy M. Kaine during this 2008 9 10 Regular Session and communicated to the General Assembly January 31, 2008: AGENCY HEADS 11 Karen Remley, 109 Governor Street, Richmond, Virginia 23219, Commissioner, Virginia Department of Health, appointed January 15, 2008, to serve at the pleasure of the Governor beginning 12 13 January 22, 2008, to succeed Interim Commissioner James E. Burns. 14 Paula I. Otto, 900 East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia 23219, Director, Department of the 15 Virginia Lottery, appointed January 25, 2008, to serve at the pleasure of the Governor beginning 16 February 1, 2008, to succeed Interim Director Frank Snead Ferguson. 17 COMMERCE AND TRADE 18 19 Board of Directors, Virginia Economic Development Partnership Jake Gosa, 325 Windsor Lane, Winchester, Virginia 22602, Member, appointed January 9, 2008, for a term of six years beginning January 1, 2008, and ending December 31, 2013, to succeed himself. 20 21 Hugh D. Keogh, 3402 Sarsen Court, Midlothian, Virginia 23113, Member, appointed January 9, 22 23 2008, for a term of six years beginning January 1, 2008, and ending December 31, 2013, to succeed 24 John Mahone. 25 John Malbon, 1402 Carolyn Drive, Virginia Beach, Virginia 23451, Member, appointed January 9, 2008, for a term of six years beginning January 1, 2008, and ending December 31, 2013, to succeed 26 27 himself. Julien G. Patterson, 2802 Pine Hollow Road, Oakton, Virginia 22124, Member, appointed January 28 29 9, 2008, for a term of six years beginning January 1, 2008, and ending December 31, 2013, to succeed 30 Mary Carter. 31 32 **EDUCATION** 33 Board of Education Isis M. Castro, 2404 Culpeper Road, Alexandria, Virginia 22308, Member, appointed January 15, 2008, for a term of four years beginning January 30, 2008, and ending January 29, 2012, to succeed 34 35 36 herself. 37 Eleanor B. Saslaw, 4418 Random Court, Annandale, Virginia 22003, Member, appointed January 38 15, 2008, for a term of four years beginning January 30, 2008, and ending January 29, 2012, to succeed 39 herself. 40 Virginia Commission for the Arts Ann Edwards Rust, 1020 Monroe Štreet, Herndon, Virginia 20170, Member, appointed January 21, 41 2008, to serve an unexpired term beginning December 25, 2007, and ending June 30, 2009, to succeed 42 Eve Wilson. 43 44 Board of Visitors of Virginia State University Felix Davis, Jr., 15513 Chesdin Landing Place, Chesterfield, Virginia 23838, Member, appointed January 23, 2008, to serve an unexpired term beginning January 1, 2008, and ending June 30, 2011, to 45 46 47 succeed William E. Ward, Ph.D. 48 49 HEALTH AND HUMAN RESOURCES 50 Interagency Civil Admissions Advisory Council 51 Susan G. Austin, Post Office Box 1071, Marion, Virginia 24354, Member, appointed January 30, 52 2008, for a term of three years beginning July 1, 2007, and ending June 30, 2010, to succeed herself. 53 Nan Marguerite Joseph-Forbes, 341 West Main Street, Purcellville, Virginia 20132, Member, 54 appointed January 30, 2008, for a term of three years beginning July 1, 2007, and ending June 30, 2010, 55 to succeed herself. Gary S. Kavit, 139 Beechwood Hills, Newport News, Virginia 23608, Member, appointed January 56 30, 2008, for a term of three years beginning July 1, 2007, and ending June 30, 2010, to succeed 57 58 himself.

9/11/10 14:1

SJ160

SJ160

65

70

71

76

77

59 Eileen Kulp, 26 Sarfan Drive, Hampton, Virginia 23664, Member, appointed January 30, 2008, for a term of three years beginning July 1, 2007, and ending June 30, 2010, to succeed herself. Philip Pate, 453 North Braddock Street, Winchester, Virginia 22601, Member, appointed January 60

61 62 30, 2008, for a term of three years beginning July 1, 2007, and ending June 30, 2010, to succeed 63 himself. 64

LEGISLATIVE

Virginia Code Commission

Cleo Elaine Powell, 11710 Braystone Lane, Chesterfield, Virginia 23838, Member, appointed 66 January 23, 2008, to serve an unexpired term beginning October 10, 2007, and ending January 31, 2011, 67 to succeed Samuel Bernard Goodwyn. 68 69

INDEPENDENT

State Lottery Board

72 David H. Hallock, Jr., 8911 Brieryle Road, Richmond, Virginia 23229, Member, appointed January 73 9, 2008, for a term of five years beginning January 15, 2008, and ending January 14, 2013, to succeed 74 himself. 75

COMPACTS

Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission

78 Lynwood W. Lewis, Jr., 23239 Front Street, Accomac, Virginia 23301, Member, appointed January 79 16, 2008, to serve at the pleasure of the Governor beginning January 1, 2008, to succeed John 80 Chichester.