SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 154

Offered February 1, 2008

Celebrating the lives of Ross A. Alameddine, Christopher James Bishop, Brian Roy Bluhm, Ryan Christopher Clark, Austin Michelle Cloyd, Jocelyne Couture-Nowak, Kevin P. Granata, Matthew Gregory Gwaltney, Caitlin Millar Hammaren, Jeremy Michael Herbstritt, Rachael Elizabeth Hill, Emily Jane Hilscher, Jarrett Lee Lane, Matthew Joseph La Porte, Henry J. Lee, Liviu Librescu, G.V. Loganathan, Partahi Mamora Halomoan Lumbantoruan, Lauren Ashley McCain, Daniel Patrick O'Neil, Juan Ramon Ortiz-Ortiz, Minal Hiralal Panchal, Daniel Alejandro Perez, Erin Nicole Peterson, Michael Steven Pohle, Jr., Julia Kathleen Pryde, Mary Karen Read, Reema Joseph Samaha, Waleed Mohamed Shaalan, Leslie Geraldine Sherman, Maxine Shelly Turner, and Nicole Regina White.

Patrons—Watkins; Delegate: Shuler

WHEREAS, each of the 32 men and women who died tragically at the Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University campus on April 16, 2007, were respected and cherished by their families, their friends, and their fellow students and professors for who they were as individuals, who they would uniquely become, and what they were aspiring to accomplish in their lives; and

WHEREAS, since April 16, 2007, the citizens of Virginia have come to know the dreams and pursuits of these intelligent, caring, and talented men and women; to mourn their deaths; and to ponder with sadness what significant and amazing achievements they might have realized and what differences, big and small, they could have made in the world to make it a better place in which to live; and

WHEREAS, bereavement for these extraordinary men and women and the senseless loss of their lives is felt most profoundly by their loved ones, but during the days, weeks, and months that followed the tragedy, heartfelt condolences, prayers, and messages of hope, inspiration, and encouragement poured out by every means imaginable in an effort to comfort the victims' families and to bolster the Virginia Tech community in its grief and recovery; and

WHEREAS, the citizens of the Commonwealth, the nation, and the world will surely remember each of the 32 exemplary men and women we have lost through the countless memorials and tributes created in their name, the lasting monuments erected in their honor, and especially through the good works and enduring accomplishments that will be achieved in their stead; and

WHEREAS, the students and educators of Virginia Tech and all Virginians mourn the deaths of the 32 respected and beloved persons who died at the Virginia Tech campus on April 16, 2007, and in all of their memories, "We will continue to invent the future through our blood and tears and through all our sadness. . . .We will prevail," — N. Giovanni; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED by the Senate, the House of Delegates concurring, That the General Assembly note with great sorrow the loss of Ross A. Alameddine, Christopher James Bishop, Brian Roy Bluhm, Ryan Christopher Clark, Austin Michelle Cloyd, Jocelyne Couture-Nowak, Kevin P. Granata, Matthew Gregory Gwaltney, Caitlin Millar Hammaren, Jeremy Michael Herbstritt, Rachael Elizabeth Hill, Emily Jane Hilscher, Jarrett Lee Lane, Matthew Joseph La Porte, Henry J. Lee, Liviu Librescu, G.V. Loganathan, Partahi Mamora Halomoan Lumbantoruan, Lauren Ashley McCain, Daniel Patrick O'Neil, Juan Ramon Ortiz-Ortiz, Minal Hiralal Panchal, Daniel Alejandro Perez, Erin Nicole Peterson, Michael Steven Pohle, Jr., Julia Kathleen Pryde, Mary Karen Read, Reema Joseph Samaha, Waleed Mohamed Shaalan, Leslie Geraldine Sherman, Maxine Shelly Turner, and Nicole Regina White; and, be it

RESOLVED FURTHER, That the Clerk of the Senate prepare a copy of this resolution for presentation to the families of each of the 32 respected and beloved persons whose lives were tragically lost on April 16, 2007, as an expression of the General Assembly's deepest sympathy on behalf of all of the citizens of the Commonwealth.