

HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 355

Offered February 6, 2008

Commending the Fairfax County school winners of the Governor's Award for Educational Excellence.

Patrons—Vanderhye, Albo, Alexander, Amundson, Bulova, Caputo, Ebbin, Eisenberg, Englin, Hugo, Hull, Marsden, Moran, Plum, Rust, Scott, J.M., Shannon, Sickles, Spruill and Watts; Senators: Barker, Cuccinelli, Herring, Howell, Petersen, Puller, Saslaw, Ticer and Whipple

WHEREAS, Rachel Carson Middle School, Chesterbrook Elementary School, Churchill Road Elementary School, Colvin Run Elementary School, Cooper Middle School, Franklin Middle School, Great Falls Elementary School, Haycock Elementary School, Hunt Valley Elementary School, Longfellow Middle School, Louise Archer Elementary School, James Madison High School, Oak Hill Elementary School, Oakton High School, Thoreau Middle School, West Springfield Elementary School, Westfield High School, and W. T. Woodson High School of the Fairfax County Public Schools were among the 89 outstanding Virginia public schools that were awarded the Governor's Award for Educational Excellence by Governor Timothy M. Kaine on January 10, 2008; and

WHEREAS, to qualify for the Governor's Award for Educational Excellence, public schools and school divisions must meet, for at least two consecutive years, all of the state and federal achievement benchmarks, as well as meet the Governor's goals for school achievement in elementary school reading, enrollment in Algebra I by 8th grade, enrollment in college-level courses, attainment of advanced diplomas and career and industry certifications, and participation in the Virginia Preschool Initiative if eligible; and

WHEREAS, students in these award-winning schools are performing far above the minimum requirements of the Virginia Standards of Learning and the federal No Child Left Behind Act; and

WHEREAS, the outstanding achievement of all of the public schools honored with the Governor's Award for Educational Excellence is a tribute to the dedication, perseverance, and commitment of the outstanding schools and their faculties, students, and parents and the citizens of Fairfax County; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED by the House of Delegates, the Senate concurring, That the General Assembly commend and congratulate Rachel Carson Middle School, Chesterbrook Elementary School, Churchill Road Elementary School, Colvin Run Elementary School, Cooper Middle School, Franklin Middle School, Great Falls Elementary School, Haycock Elementary School, Hunt Valley Elementary School, Longfellow Middle School, Louise Archer Elementary School, James Madison High School, Oak Hill Elementary School, Oakton High School, Thoreau Middle School, West Springfield Elementary School, Westfield High School, and W. T. Woodson High School in the Fairfax County Public Schools as recipients of the Governor's Award for Educational Excellence in 2008; and, be it

RESOLVED FURTHER, That the Clerk of the House of Delegates prepare a copy of this resolution for presentation to the principals of each of the award-winning schools as an expression of the General Assembly's appreciation of each school's commitment to academic excellence and to the young people of Fairfax County.