HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 197

Commending the University of Mary Washington and James Madison University on the occasion of the 100th anniversary of their founding.

Agreed to by the House of Delegates, January 10, 2008 Agreed to by the Senate, January 11, 2008

WHEREAS, at the 1908 session of the General Assembly of Virginia, there was widespread awareness of the need for additional facilities for the preparation of teachers for the Commonwealth's expanding system of secondary education; and

WHEREAS, following spirited debate between proponents of the various localities, the Cities of Fredericksburg and Harrisonburg emerged as the two leading contenders for the construction of a new educational facility; and

WHEREAS, the General Assembly in its collective wisdom decided to establish a school in each locality, and accordingly, a bill creating State Normal and Industrial Schools for Women at both Fredericksburg and Harrisonburg was signed into law on March 14, 1908; and

WHEREAS, during the next 100 years, these fine institutions, known today as the University of Mary Washington, which is located in the City of Fredericksburg and the County of Stafford, and James Madison University, which is located in the City of Harrisonburg, have developed into schools that are nationally acclaimed for their outstanding liberal arts, professional, and graduate programs; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED by the House of Delegates, the Senate concurring, That the General Assembly recognize the University of Mary Washington and James Madison University for providing the citizens of the Commonwealth with continuing excellence in higher education for the past century; and, be it

RESOLVED FURTHER, That the Clerk of the House of Delegates prepare copies of this resolution for presentation to the president of each outstanding institution on the occasion of its historic centennial anniversary as an expression of the General Assembly's admiration for their exemplary educational programs.