VIRGINIA ACTS OF ASSEMBLY -- 2008 SESSION

CHAPTER 283

An Act to amend and reenact § 3.1 of Chapter 131 of the Acts of Assembly of 1977, which provided a charter for the Town of Brodnax, relating to elections.

[H7]

Approved March 4, 2008

Be it enacted by the General Assembly of Virginia:

- 1. That § 3.1 of Chapter 131 of the Acts of Assembly of 1977 is amended and reenacted as follows:
- § 3.1. ELECTION, QUALIFICATION AND TERM OF OFFICE OF COUNCILMEN AND MAYOR.

The town of Brodnax shall be governed by a town council composed of seven councilmen and a mayor, all of whom shall be qualified voters of the town, to be elected from the town at large. Any person qualified to vote in the town shall be eligible for the office of councilman or mayor. The mayor and councilmen in office at the time of the passage of this act shall continue in office until the expiration of the terms for which they were elected or until their successors are duly elected and qualified. An election for mayor and councilmen shall be held on the first Tuesday in May, nineteen hundred seventy-eight and on the first Tuesday in May of every second year thereafter and take office on the first day of July succeeding their election; provided the mayor and councilmen elected the first Tuesday in May, nineteen hundred seventy-eight, shall not take office until September one, nineteen hundred seventy-eight, to serve for terms of one year ten months. Thereafter they shall each serve for a term of two years or until their successors have qualified.

However, beginning in 2009, the election for mayor and councilmen shall be held at the time of the November general election with elected members to take office on the first day of January succeeding their election. The terms of council members in office at the time of the November 2009 election shall end on January 1, 2010. The mayor and the three members of town council receiving the highest number of votes in the November 2009 election shall serve four-year terms. The other four persons elected to town council in November 2009 shall serve two-year terms. Thereafter, all council members shall be elected for four-year terms.