## VIRGINIA ACTS OF ASSEMBLY -- 2008 SESSION

## **CHAPTER 4**

An Act to amend and reenact § 3.1, as amended, of Chapter 73 of the Acts of Assembly of 1973, which provided a charter for the Town of Troutville, relating to elections.

[H 240]

Approved February 19, 2008

Be it enacted by the General Assembly of Virginia:

- 1. That § 3.1, as amended, of Chapter 73 of the Acts of Assembly of 1973 is amended and reenacted as follows:
  - § 3.1. Election, Qualification and Term of Office of Councilmen and Mayor.

(a) The town of Troutville shall be governed by a town council composed of six councilmen and a mayor, all of whom shall be qualified voters of the town.

(b) The mayor and councilmen in office at the time of the passage of this act shall continue until the expiration of the terms for which they were elected, or until their successors are duly elected and qualified. An election for mayor and councilmen shall be held on the first Tuesday in May, 1974, and the mayor and councilmen shall constitute the town council, who shall hold office for a term of two years from the first day of July, next following the date of their election and until their successors have been duly elected and qualified. In the year 1974, and every second year thereafter, a municipal election of councilmen shall be held on the first Tuesday in May. In the year 1974, and every second year thereafter, a municipal election of mayor shall be held on the first Tuesday in May.

However, beginning in 2008, the elections for mayor and councilmen shall be held at the time of the November general election. The mayor and councilmen in office on June 30, 2008, shall remain in office until their successors have been duly elected and qualified. Furthermore, for purposes of staggering the terms of council members, the three candidates who receive the highest number of votes in the November general election shall be elected to terms of three years. The mayor and remaining three council members shall serve terms of two years. Thereafter, the mayor and all council members shall be elected for terms of two years.