SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 524

Commending the Clarke County High School boys' cross country team.

Agreed to by the Senate, February 22, 2007 Agreed to by the House of Delegates, February 23, 2007

WHEREAS, the Clarke County High School boys' cross country team won the Virginia High School League Group A state championship on November 11, 2006, dominating a field of 15 teams; and

WHEREAS, the Clarke County Eagles took home their third consecutive state title with an extraordinary performance, placing five runners in the top 10 to score 23 points, miles ahead of runner-up Radford who had 82 points; and

WHEREAS, the Eagles were led by senior Simon Biddle-Snead who came up short in his bid for a third individual state title, but held off a tough competitor from Lebanon High School to win second place by 0.2 seconds; and

WHEREAS, six Eagles runners made all-state by finishing in the top 15; following Simon Biddle-Snead were sophomore Chris York in fourth place, senior Daniel Callan in fifth, senior Bryan Broy in sixth, sophomore Ben Veilleux in 10th place, and junior Joe Racer in 15th place; and

WHEREAS, the Eagles do not take state championships for granted, and the 2006 win was especially sweet because the team had to overcome several injuries during the season in order to put together a strong finish; and

WHEREAS, the spectacular performance of the Clarke County High School boys' cross country team is a tribute to the talent, dedication, and perseverance of the team members; the leadership of Coach Nancy Specht and her staff; and the support of the students, faculty, and parents of Clarke County High School; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED by the Senate, the House of Delegates concurring, That the General Assembly hereby commend and congratulate the Clarke County High School boys' cross country team on its Virginia High School League Group A state championship; and, be it

RESOLVED FURTHER, That the Clerk of the Senate prepare a copy of this resolution for presentation to Coach Nancy Specht as an expression of the General Assembly's admiration for the Eagles' triumphant 2006 season.