078007848 **SENATE BILL NO. 753** 1 2 Offered January 10, 2007 3 Prefiled December 6, 2006 4 A BILL to amend and reenact §§ 33.1-1 and 33.1-2 of the Code of Virginia, relating to composition of 5 the Commonwealth Transportation Board; election of certain members by the General Assembly. 6 Patron—Williams 7 8 Referred to Committee on Transportation 9 10 Be it enacted by the General Assembly of Virginia: 1. That §§ 33.1-1 and 33.1-2 of the Code of Virginia are amended and reenacted as follows: 11 § 33.1-1. State Highway and Transportation Board continued as Commonwealth Transportation 12 13 Board; number and terms of members; removal from office; vacancies. 14 The State Highway and Transportation Board, formerly known as the State Highway and 15 Transportation Commission, is continued and shall hereafter be known as the Commonwealth Transportation Board. Wherever either "Commission" or "Board" is used in this title referring to the 16 State Highway and Transportation Board or the State Highway and Transportation Commission, it shall 17 18 mean the Commonwealth Transportation Board. 19 The Board shall consist of seventeen members: the Secretary of Transportation, the Commonwealth 20 Transportation Commissioner, the Director of the Department of Rail and Public Transportation, and 21 fourteen citizen members. The citizen Except for those members elected by the General Assembly as 22 provided in § 33.1-2, members shall be (i) appointed by the Governor as provided in § 33.1-2, (ii) 23 subject to confirmation by the General Assembly, and (iii) removable from office during their respective 24 terms by the Governor at his pleasure. Appointments of citizen members shall be for terms of four years 25 commencing upon July 1, upon the expiration of the terms of the existing members, respectively. The initial terms of the members appointed in January, 1987, shall commence when appointed and shall be 26 for terms ending June 30, 1988, June 30, 1989, and June 30, 1990, respectively. Vacancies shall be 27 28 filled by appointment by the Governor in the same manner as the original appointment or election and 29 shall be for the unexpired term and shall be effective until thirty days after the next meeting of the 30 ensuing General Assembly and, if confirmed, thereafter for the remainder of the term. No person shall 31 be eligible to serve more than two successive terms of four years, other than the Secretary of Transportation, the Commonwealth Transportation Commissioner, and the Director of the Department of 32 33 Rail and Public Transportation. A person heretofore or hereafter appointed by the Governor or elected 34 by the General Assembly to fill a vacancy may serve two additional successive terms. 35 The Secretary of Transportation shall serve as Chairman of the Board. The Secretary shall have 36 voting privileges only in the event of a tie. The Commonwealth Transportation Commissioner shall 37 serve as Vice-Chairman of the Board. The Commissioner shall have voting privileges only in the event 38 of a tie when he is presiding during the absence of the Chairman. The Director of the Department of 39 Rail and Public Transportation shall serve without a vote. Whenever in this title and in the Code of Virginia "State Highway Commission" or "State Highway and Transportation Board" is used, it shall mean "Commonwealth Transportation Board"; "State Highway Commissioner" or "State Highway and Transportation Commissioner" shall mean 40 41 42 "Commonwealth Transportation Commissioner"; and all references to "Department of Highways and Transportation" shall refer to the Department of Transportation. 43 44 45 § 33.1-2. Residence requirements; statewide interest. Of such Board, one member shall be a resident of the territory now included in the Bristol 46 construction district, one in the Salem construction district, one in the Lynchburg construction district, 47 one in the Staunton construction district, one in the Culpeper construction district, one in the 48 49 Fredericksburg construction district, one in the Richmond construction district, one in the Hampton Roads construction district and one in the Northern Virginia construction district embraced by each of 50 51 the 11 congressional districts in the Commonwealth. The foregoing members of the Board shall be 52 elected by a majority vote of the members of the House of Delegates and Senate who reside in each 53 congressional district. The remaining five three members shall be appointed by the Governor from the Commonwealth at large, but at least two one shall reside in standard metropolitan statistical areas and be 54 55 designated as an urban at-large members member, and at least two one shall reside outside standard metropolitan statistical areas and be designated as a rural at-large members member. The at-large 56 members shall be appointed to represent rural and urban transportation needs and be mindful of the 57 58 concerns of seaports and seaport users, airports and airport users, railways and railway users, and mass

3/23/10 17:33

59 transit and mass transit users. Each member so appointed All members of the Board shall be mindful of

60 the best interest of the Commonwealth at large primarily instead of those of the district from which 61 chosen or of the transportation interest represented.

Notwithstanding the foregoing provisions of this section, initial terms of members elected from congressional districts by members of the General Assembly shall be as follows: members elected from the first and second congressional districts shall be elected for terms of one year; members elected from the third and fourth congressional districts shall be elected for terms of two years; members elected from the fifth and sixth congressional districts shall be elected for terms of three years; members elected

67 from the seventh and eighth congressional districts shall be elected for terms of four years; the member

68 elected from the ninth congressional district shall be elected for a term of three years; the member

69 elected from the tenth congressional district shall be elected for a term of two years; and the member 70 elected from the eleventh congressional district shall be elected for a term of one year.

70 elected from the eleventh congressional district shall be elected for a term of one year. **71** Roard members closed by the Consul Assembly shall not be supported by the Consult Assembly shall not be supporte

71 Board members elected by the General Assembly shall not be removable by the Governor, but may 72 be removed from office only by a majority vote of the members present and voting in both houses of the 73 General Assembly.

74 2. That the provisions of this act shall not affect members of the Commonwealth Transportation

75 Board appointed prior to July 1, 2007.