077556480 **HOUSE BILL NO. 1931** 

1 2

**3 4** 

5

6

**7 8** 

9 10

11 12

13 14

15

16

17

18

19 20

21

22

23

24

25

26 27

29

30

31

32

33 34

35

36

**37** 

38

39

40

41

Offered January 10, 2007 Prefiled January 4, 2007

A BILL to amend and reenact § 2 of Chapter 66 of the Acts of Assembly of 1960, as amended, relating to the Hampton Roads Sanitation District.

Patron—Rapp

Referred to Committee on General Laws

Be it enacted by the General Assembly of Virginia:

## 1. That § 2 of Chapter 66 of the Acts of Assembly of 1960, as amended, is amended and reenacted as follows:

§ 2. The functions, affairs and property of the Hampton Roads Sanitation District shall be managed and controlled by a commission, known as the "Hampton Roads Sanitation District Commission," consisting of eight 12 members appointed by the Governor. The Commission and the term of each such member shall continue until his successor shall be duly appointed and qualified. The successor of each such member shall be appointed for a term of four years and until his successor shall be duly appointed and qualified, except that any person appointed to fill a vacancy shall serve only for the unexpired term. Any member of the Commission shall be eligible for reappointment without limitation as to the number of terms that may be served. Members of the Commission may be suspended or removed by the Governor at his pleasure.

At the time of their appointment, one of the members of the Commission, and each of his successors, shall be residents of the territory in the District within the City of Norfolk, one of the members, and each of his successors, shall be residents of the territory in the District within the City of Virginia Beach, one of the members, and each of his successors, shall be residents of the territory in the District within the City of Newport News, one of the members, and each of his successors, shall be residents of the territory in the District within the City of Hampton, one of the members, and each of his successors, shall be residents of the territory in the District within the City of Chesapeake, one of the members, and each of his successors, shall be residents of the territory in the District within the City of Suffolk or Isle of Wight County, one of the members, and each of his successors, shall be residents of the territory in the District within the City of Williamsburg or James City County or York County or the City of Poquoson or Gloucester County or King William County or Mathews County or Middlesex County or the Town of Urbanna, or King and Queen County, and one of the members, and each of his successors, shall be residents of the territory in the District within the City of Portsmouth. Any member who shall cease to reside within the territory from which he was appointed shall thereupon be disqualified from holding office as a member of the Commission and the vacancy thus created shall be filled by appointment by the Governor for the balance of the unexpired term.

There shall also be four additional members who are elected officials of the localities within the service area of the Hampton Roads Sanitation District. Two of these shall be officials representing localities south of the James River and two shall represent localities north of the James River. At least one member from each division must represent a locality in which a sewage treatment facility owned and operated by the Hampton Roads Sanitation District is located.