2006 SPECIAL SESSION I

INTRODUCED REPRINT

060442525

1 2 3

HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 5080

Offered June 6, 2006

Commending the University of Virginia men's lacrosse team.

Patrons—Toscano, Albo, Alexander, Amundson, Athey, BaCote, Barlow, Bell, Bowling, Brink, Bulova, Carrico, Cline, Cole, Cosgrove, Cox, Dance, Ebbin, Englin, Fralin, Frederick, Gear, Gilbert, Hall, Hamilton, Hargrove, Howell, W.J., Hull, Iaquinto, Janis, Joannou, Johnson, Jones, D.C., Jones, S.C., Landes, Lewis, Lingamfelter, Lohr, Marsden, Marshall, R.G., May, McClellan, McEachin, McQuigg, Melvin, Miller, Moran, Nixon, Nutter, Phillips, Plum, Purkey, Putney, Rapp, Reid, Rust, Saxman, Scott, E.T., Scott, J.M., Shannon, Sherwood, Sickles, Suit, Tata, Tyler, Valentine, Waddell, Ward, Ware, R.L. and Watts

5 6 7

> 8 9

10

11

12

13

14 15

16

17

18

19 20 21

22

23

24

25

26

27

28

29

30 31

32

33

34

35

WHEREAS, on May 29, 2006, the University of Virginia Cavaliers won the men's lacrosse national title game held at Lincoln Financial Field in Philadelphia before a record crowd of 47,062 fans; and

WHEREAS, the University of Virginia defeated the University of Massachusetts in the National College Athletics Association (NCAA) championship game, 15-7; and

WHEREAS, the men's lacrosse national title is University of Virginia's fourth NCAA championship and the sixth national title in program history; and

WHEREAS, during an impressive run, the Cavaliers ended the third quarter scoring four goals in four minutes and 12 seconds; and

WHEREAS, in the fourth quarter, the Cavaliers pushed the lead to 13-6; the University of Massachusetts scored its final goal with 9:25 to play, after which Virginia sophomore Ben Rubeor rallied to make the final two goals of the game; and

WHEREAS, leading the nation's No. 1 offense, seniors Matt Ward and Matt Poskay each scored five goals; Drew Thompson won eight of 12 face-offs; Michael Culver executed excellent defense to hold the University of Massachusetts' leading scorer to two assists; and Garrett Billings, Danny Glading, Ricky Smith, Kyle Dixon, and goalie Kip Turner made tremendous contributions in an outstanding team effort in the championship tournament; and

WHEREAS, Matt Ward was named the tournament's Most Outstanding Player, scoring 16 goals and slashing a 1990 NCAA record for most goals in tournament competition; and

WHEREAS, the University of Virginia men's lacrosse players named to the all-tournament team were Michael Culver, Kyle Dixon, Danny Glading, Matt Poskay, and Matt Ward; and

WHEREAS, Dom Starsia, in his 14th season as head coach, led his exemplary University of Virginia men's lacrosse team to its 13th NCAA tournament appearance; and

WHEREAS, the Cavaliers are the first men's lacrosse team in NCAA history to finish with a 17-0 record and the 12th team to win the national championship with an undefeated record; now, therefore,

RESOLVED by the House of Delegates, the Senate concurring, That the General Assembly hereby commend and congratulate the University of Virginia on its men's lacrosse national title and its remarkable 2005-2006 season; and, be it

RESOLVED FURTHER, That the Clerk of the House of Delegates prepare a copy of this resolution for presentation to Head Coach Dom Starsia as an expression of the General Assembly's appreciation of the championship performance of the University of Virginia men's lacrosse team.