INTRODUCED REPRINT

INTRODUCED

HJ505

2006 SPECIAL SESSION I

068630248

1

2

3 4

5

6 7

8 9

10

11

12 13

14 15

16

17 18 19

20

21

22

23

HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 5057

Offered May 18, 2006

Commending the Yorktown High School debate team.

Patrons—Brink, Ebbin, Eisenberg and Englin; Senators: Ticer and Whipple

WHEREAS, the Yorktown High School debate team, from Arlington County, captured the 2005-2006 Virginia High School League's AAA state debate championship; and

WHEREAS, the six participating members of the Yorktown High School debate team, coached by Kevin Briscoe and Duane and Roberta Hyland, returned from the state meet in Lynchburg with Yorktown's first state debate championship in school history; and

WHEREAS, Emily Burke and Daniel Straus finished first in the Classic Policy debate while Andrew Seidman and Sam Strongin took second place honors in the same category; and

WHEREAS, Allison Deich won first in the Lincoln-Douglas debate while Daniel Kilmow competed in the Student Congress category and advanced to the top 20 super session; and

WHEREAS, the team's depth and breadth of talent, combined with hard work and inspired coaching, led to a well-earned state championship for the Yorktown High School debate team; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED by the House of Delegates, the Senate concurring, That the General Assembly commend the Yorktown High School debate team on its outstanding performance in the 2005-2006 Virginia High School League's AAA state debate championship; and, be it

RESOLVED FURTHER, That the Clerk of the House of Delegates prepare a copy of this resolution for presentation to Principal Raymond Pasi as an expression of the General Assembly's admiration for the state champions from Yorktown High School.