2006 SPECIAL SESSION I

INTRODUCED REPRINT

1 2 3

HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 5047 Offered May 10, 2006

Commending Dave Robbins and the Virginia Union University men's basketball team.

Patrons—Jones, D.C., McClellan, Alexander, BaCote, Barlow, Brink, Bulova, Dance, Hall, Howell, A.T., Hull, Marsden, McEachin, Melvin, Moran, Poisson, Scott, J.M., Shannon, Sickles, Spruill, Toscano, Tyler, Waddell, Ward, Ware, O. and Watts

WHEREAS, Dave Robbins and the Virginia Union University men's basketball team are recognized for their remarkable 2005-2006 season, which included winning their third straight Central Intercollegiate Athletic Association (CIAA) men's basketball title on March 4, 2006; and

WHEREAS, the Virginia Union University Panthers have won 17 CIAA tournaments, 13 under Head Coach Dave Robbins, the greatest number of championship titles won by a team in CIAA history; and

WHEREAS, the Virginia Union University men's basketball team was honored with the first Clarence "Big House" Gaines Trophy, the new name of the CIAA championship trophy, named after the legendary former Winston-Salem State coach who compiled 828 victories during his coaching career; and

WHEREAS, the extraordinary Panther team capped its stellar season with its appearance as the defending champion in the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) Division II men's basketball championship before a crowd of 4,093 at the MassMutual Center on March 25, 2006; and

WHEREAS, falling short of a second national championship, but proudly ending the season as No. 2 in the nation, Head Coach Dave Robbins and the Panthers marked their outstanding season and commendable play in the NCAA Division II tournament with a 30-4 record overall and with immense pride in their many accomplishments and continued growth as a team; and

WHEREAS, exemplary sophomore forward Brad Byerson and senior guard Darius Hargrove were chosen as members of the Elite Eight All Tournament Team; and

WHEREAS, outstanding Panther team members Tim Young, Duan Crockett, Steve Miller, Maurice Manning, Emerson Kidd, Jason Wansley, Buster Perkins, Quincy Smith, B.J. Stevenson, Chris Greene, John Toombs, Greg Thondique, Phillip Moore, and LaDerrick McKinstry made valuable contributions throughout the season in a total team effort; and

WHEREAS, the extraordinary success of the Virginia Union University men's basketball team is due to the superb leadership of Head Coach Dave Robbins and his hardworking staff of Willard Coker, Jerome Furtado, Bryan Underwood, and Mike Walker; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED by the House of Delegates, the Senate concurring, That the General Assembly commend and congratulate Dave Robbins and the Virginia Union University Panthers on their well-deserved recognition as the first Clarence "Big House" Gaines Trophy award winner and their outstanding 2005-2006 season; and, be it

RESOLVED FURTHER, That the Clerk of the House of Delegates prepare a copy of this resolution for presentation to Head Coach Dave Robbins in honor of the exceptional performance of the Virginia Union University men's basketball team.