## **HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 40**

Commending the E. C. Glass High School boys' track team.

Agreed to by the House of Delegates, March 11, 2006

WHEREAS, the E. C. Glass High School boys' track team won the 2006 Virginia High School League Group AAA indoor track state championship; and

WHEREAS, the E. C. Glass High School Hilltoppers scored 33 points to win the first indoor state championship title in the school's history and its second state track and field title ever; the first title was won in 1951 under high school Hall of Fame coach Vince Bradford; and

WHEREAS, in the championship meet, E. C. Glass High School defeated Indian River High School and Huguenot High School, who tied for second place with 27 points; and

WHEREAS, the Hilltoppers' Carlton Phipps won the 500-meter event, in a time of 1:03.99, and placed eighth in the 300-meter event; Mike Zajak placed first in the shot put; and

WHEREAS, Patterson Wilhelm finished third in the 1600-meter event; and the relay team of Patterson Wilhelm, Carlton Phipps, Nathan Richards, and Daniel Spanos placed third in the 3200-meter event; and

WHEREAS, the extraordinary success of the Hilltoppers is a tribute to the dedication and teamwork of the athletes, the leadership of Coach Mike Anthony and his assistant coaches, and the support of the parents, students, and faculty of E. C. Glass High School; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Delegates hereby commend the E. C. Glass High School boys' track team on its Group AAA indoor track state championship and its memorable 2006 season; and, be it

RESOLVED FURTHER, That the Clerk of the House of Delegates prepare a copy of this resolution for presentation to Coach Mike Anthony on behalf of all of the members of the 2006 E. C. Glass High School boys' track team as an expression of the House of Delegates' congratulations on their outstanding performance.