HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 234

Commending the Kempsville High School softball team.

Agreed to by the House of Delegates, February 3, 2006 Agreed to by the Senate, February 9, 2006

WHEREAS, the 2005 Kempsville High School softball team capped an outstanding season by capturing the Virginia High School League Group AAA state softball championship; and

WHEREAS, the Chiefs from Kempsville High School in Virginia Beach completed a dominant tournament performance by defeating Osbourn High School, 1-0, in the state title game at Newport News; and

WHEREAS, during the state championship tournament, the Chiefs relied on strong pitching and defense to shut out all three opponents; and

WHEREAS, to advance to the state title game, the Chiefs defeated strong teams from James Madison High School, 2-0, and Gar-Field High School, 4-0; and

WHEREAS, in addition to All-State Pitcher of the Year Mallory Mazur, the Chiefs were led by Emily Houchins, Victoria Madden, Ashley Paynter, Rebecca Pfeil, and Kyrus Whitehurst, all of whom earned All-State, All-Region, or All-District honors; and

WHEREAS, Kempsville High School's state softball title is evidence of the talent and dedication of the players, the leadership of Head Coach Dean Spruill and his coaching staff, and the enthusiastic support of the students, staff, and supporters of Kempsville High School; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED by the House of Delegates, the Senate concurring, That the General Assembly commend and congratulate the 2005 Kempsville High School softball team on its state championship performance; and, be it

RESOLVED FURTHER, That the Clerk of the House of Delegates prepare a copy of this resolution for presentation to Coach Dean Spruill and the Chiefs in honor of Kempsville High School's Group AAA softball state championship.