2006 SESSION

HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 14

Celebrating the life of Shirly Brandt Kiger.

Agreed to by the House of Delegates, January 13, 2006 Agreed to by the Senate, January 19, 2006

WHEREAS, Shirly Brandt Kiger of the City of Waynesboro, a career educator and former councilman, died September 22, 2005; and

WHEREAS, Shirly Kiger, born in Roanoke on September 30, 1927, was a graduate of Bridgewater College; and

WHEREAS, in 1950 Shirly Kiger began his outstanding career with the Waynesboro City Public Schools as a teacher at Wenonah Elementary later serving as principal of Waynesboro High School, director of personnel for the school district, and administrative assistant to the superintendent; and

WHEREAS, in an effort to improve the quality of life and education of all students, Shirly Kiger vigorously pursued public policies that benefited the City of Waynesboro and the Shenandoah Valley; and

WHEREAS, during his 37 years of service, Shirly Kiger provided wisdom, bold and direct leadership, and vast experience to the Waynesboro City Public Schools; and

WHEREAS, committed to the preservation of Waynesboro's rich history, Shirly Kiger helped start the Heritage Museum in 1996, worked diligently on the city's bicentennial celebration in 1997, and was instrumental in saving Plumb House, an historic frame dwelling built in the 19th century; and

WHEREAS, throughout his life of public service, Shirly Kiger served his community, especially its young people, with dignity and ardent devotion and will be missed by his family, his numerous friends and colleagues, and the citizens of the City of Waynesboro; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED by the House of Delegates, the Senate concurring, That the General Assembly hereby note with sadness the passing of an outstanding administrator and fine Virginian, Shirly Brandt Kiger; and, be it

RESOLVED FURTHER, That the Clerk of the House of Delegates prepare a copy of this resolution for presentation to the family of Shirly Brandt Kiger as an expression of the respect in which his memory is held by the members of the General Assembly.