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1. Bill Number   HB1563 

 House of Origin  Introduced  Substitute  Engrossed 

 Second House  In Committee  Substitute  Enrolled 
 

2. Patron Rust 
 

3.  Committee Transportation 
 

4. Title DMV; assessment of additional fees on certain drivers. 
 

5. Summary/Purpose:   

This legislation proposes to amend the Code of Virginia by adding a section numbered 46.2-
206.1 to require the DMV Commissioner to impose and collect fees on drivers who have 
accumulated more than six net driver demerit points or have been convicted of reckless 
driving, aggressive driving, driving on a suspended or revoked license, DUI, or any other 
misdemeanor involving operation of a motor vehicle.  These fees, minus cost of collection, 
will be used to support issuance of bonds whose proceeds are to be used for transportation 
construction, reconstruction, maintenance, maintenance replacement, and/or improvement 
projects. 

 
6. Fiscal Impact Estimates are:  Preliminary.  See item #8. 
 

7. Budget amendment necessary:  Yes.  Item 477.  
  
8. Fiscal implications:  The Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) estimates that the demerit 

point fees, without any adjustments, could generate revenues of as much as $100 million 
annually.  However, fees assessed for demerit point balances are subject to decrease based on 
the ability of drivers to voluntarily attend driver improvement courses every two years for a 
five-point reduction in demerit points.  Thus, any driver who has between 4 and 8 demerit 
points on their record would be able to attend a driver improvement course (if they’ve not 
attended one in the last two years), receive 5 demerit points and thereby avoid the demerit 
point fee.  Drivers with 4 to 8 demerit points account for the bulk of the revenue ($61 million 
of the $100 million). 

 
It is also important to note that collection of these fees will not be at 100 percent.  A similar 
program has been implemented in the State of New Jersey, operated by a private vendor.  
This private vendor advises that it experiences a collections rate of 81 percent for the demerit 
point fees.  Assuming a collection rate equal to New Jersey, would net the Commonwealth 
revenues of approximately $82 million.  From the $82 million the costs of administering the 
program must be deducted.  Again, using the New Jersey program as an example, the vendor 
reports that the cost of collecting the fees to be between 12 and 18 percent of collected 
revenues.  Thus revenues available for transportation projects could range between $67.4 



million and $72.3 million annually.  DMV is currently attempting to develop cost estimates 
for administering the program in house. 
 
The legislation also provides for other fees on certain types of misdemeanors associated with 
bad drivers.  Based on data obtained from the Compensation Board there are approximately 
843 individuals convicted of the misdemeanors specified in this legislation.  If the number of 
convictions remains constant, the fees generated would provide approximately $126,450 
annually for a three-year period. 

 

Finally, DMV estimates that it would require approximately $300,000 to modify existing 
systems and applications to meet the functional requirements of the legislation. 

  

9. Specific agency or political subdivisions affected:  Departments of Motor Vehicles and 
Transportation  

  

10. Technical amendment necessary:  None. 
  
11. Other comments:  Given the uncertainty of the actual revenues that might be collected under 

these provisions, and that individuals could pursue options to reduce the fees charged them, 
these funds could prove to be an unreliable source of revenue, especially in light of the fact 
that these funds will be used to pay for debt service on transportation bonds.  
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