
DEPARTMENT OF TAXATION 
2004 Fiscal Impact Statement 

 
1.  Patron John A. Cosgrove 2. Bill Number HB 1395 
  House of Origin: 
3.  Committee House Finance:   X Introduced 
   Substitute 
   Engrossed 
4.  Title Recordation Tax: Local Fee  
   Second House: 
    In Committee 
    Substitute 
    Enrolled 
 
5. Summary/Purpose:   
 

This bill would authorize any Virginia city or county to impose a fee not to exceed $250 on 
every instrument that is recorded.   
 
The effective date of this bill is not specified. 
 

6. Fiscal Impact Estimates are:  Not available.  (See Line 8.) 
 
7. Budget amendment necessary:  No 

 
8. Fiscal implications:   
 

The Department would incur no administrative costs as a result of this bill.  
 

This bill would have no effect on state revenues.  The local revenue impact of this bill is 
not known. The recordation fee authorized by this bill is permissive.  It is not known how 
many localities would impose this fee and the amount of the fee that would be levied. 
 

9. Specific agency or political subdivisions affected:   
 
 Cities and Counties 
 Circuit Court Clerks 

 
10. Technical amendment necessary:  None 
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11. Other comments:   
 

Current Law 
 
Currently, a recordation tax is imposed by Virginia on:  
 
• Every deed admitted to record at a rate of 50 cents on every $100 of the greater of the 

consideration paid or the value of the property; 
 

• A grantor for recording any instrument.  The rate of the tax, when the consideration for 
the interest exceeds $100, is fifty cents for each $500 of the greater of the 
consideration paid or the value of the property, exclusive of the value of any lien or 
encumbrance remaining at the time of the sale; 

 
• Deeds of trust or mortgages at a rate of 15 cents on every $100 of the amount of 

bonds or other obligations secured; 
 
• Deeds of release for 50 cents; 
 
• Deeds of partition or Deeds pertaining to divorce at a rate of 50 cents per deed; and 
 
• Contracts or leases at the rate of 15 cents on every $100 of the consideration or value 

contracted for, including contracts or agreements relating to the sale of rolling stock or 
equipment. 

 
Cities and counties may impose a recordation tax equal to one-third of the recordation tax 
imposed by Virginia on any instrument that is recorded except for any on transfers of that 
are assessed a recordation tax of 50 cents.   
 
Proposal 
 
This bill would authorize any Virginia city or county to impose a fee not to exceed $250 on 
every instrument that is recorded.   
 
The revenues generated by this additional fee may only be used for capital projects for 
public school construction and infrastructure improvements.  Allowable improvements 
include technology infrastructure, additions, renovations, and retrofitting of existing school 
buildings, new school construction, site acquisition, and debt service payments for pubic 
school capital improvements. 
 
Other Legislation 
 
House Bill 549 would impose an additional one dollar fee on every deed admitted to 
record to be remitted to the Virginia Outdoors Foundation. 
 
Senate Bill 569 would impose an additional ten dollar fee on every instrument admitted to 
record to be remitted to the Virginia Natural and Historic Resources Fund. 
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