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1. Bill Number   HB 1105  

 House of Origin  Introduced  Substitute  Engrossed 

 Second House  In Committee  Substitute  Enrolled 
 

2. Patron Moran 
 

3.  Committee Appropriations 
 

4. Title Malicious injury of probation and parole officers 
 

5. Summary/Purpose:   
  
  Current law provides enhanced penalties for causing bodily injury to law enforcement 

officers, firefighters, search and rescue workers, or emergency medical services personnel, 
while such persons are engaged in the performance of their duties.  If the bodily injury is 
caused maliciously, the penalty is a sentence of 5 to 30 years, with a mandatory minimum 
sentence of two years.  If the injury is not malicious, the offense is a Class 6 felony, with a 
mandatory minimum sentence of one year. 

  
  The proposed legislation would add adult and juvenile parole and probation officers to 

the list of persons covered by these provisions. 

 
6. Fiscal Impact:  Final. See Item 8. 
  
7. Budget amendment necessary:  Yes.  New Item 402.10. 
  
8. Fiscal implications:    

 

 Pursuant to § 30-19.1:4 of the Code of Virginia, the Virginia Criminal Sentencing 
Commission estimates a fiscal impact of $226,825 (the highest annual cost over the next six 
years). The amount is based on the projection that the legislation will result in 10 additional 
inmates being incarcerated in prison. 

  
9. Specific agency or political subdivisions affected:  Department of Corrections 
  

10. Technical amendment necessary:  None. 
  
11. Other comments:   

 
   Among other provisions, § 18.2-55 of the Code of Virginia makes it a Class 5 felony for 

any prisoner, probationer, or parolee to inflict bodily injury on a probation and parole officer. 
 The proposed legislation would not affect this statute, but would amend § 18.2-51.1.  The 
amended section is broader in that it covers bodily injury inflicted by any person, not just 



prisoners, probationers, or parolees.  The amended section also provides for a mandatory 
minimum sentence, while § 18.2-55 does not have such a provision.  To avoid confusion, if § 
18.2-51.1 is amended as proposed, § 18.2-55 should be amended, as well, to reflect the 
changes to § 18.2-51.1. 
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