SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 9

Celebrating the life of Dr. Vernon Lee Clark.

Agreed to by the Senate, January 22, 2004 Agreed to by the House of Delegates, January 30, 2004

WHEREAS, Dr. Vernon Lee Clark, a native of Norfolk who excelled in a wide-ranging academic career that took him to eight universities, died on October 27, 2003; and

WHEREAS, Vernon Clark was educated in the Norfolk public schools and earned his undergraduate degree from Norfolk State University, two master's degrees from the University of Illinois, and a doctorate from the University of Connecticut; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Clark held teaching and administrative positions at such institutions as the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, the College of the Virgin Islands in St. Thomas, Cheyney University of Pennsylvania, and Virginia State University; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Clark's leadership positions included program director, dean, vice president, professor, and provost; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Clark's most recent position was with the National Association for Equal Opportunity in Higher Education, where he oversaw curricula change, faculty recruitment and development grantsmanship, academic assessment, enhancing institutional research capability, and external fund development; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Clark was a devoted member of New Hope Church of God in Christ, where his father, Bishop Herman Clark, Sr., was a founder, and Dr. Clark served the church in a variety of positions, including board member and trustee; and

WHEREAS, throughout a life marked by significant achievement, Dr. Clark remained true to his family, his principles, his church, and his community; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED by the Senate, the House of Delegates concurring, That the General Assembly mourn the passing of an exceptional citizen of the Commonwealth, Dr. Vernon Lee Clark; and, be it

RESOLVED FURTHER, That the Clerk of the Senate prepare a copy of this resolution for presentation to the family of Dr. Vernon Lee Clark as an expression of the high regard in which his memory is held by the members of the General Assembly.