SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 218

Confirming appointments by the Governor.

Agreed to by the Senate, March 8, 2004 Agreed to by the House of Delegates, March 10, 2004

RESOLVED by the Senate, the House of Delegates concurring, That the General Assembly confirm the following appointments made by Governor Mark R. Warner during the 2004 Regular Session:

INSPECTOR GENERAL

James W. Stewart III, 1220 Bank Street, **Richmond,** Virginia 23219, Inspector General for the Department of Mental Health, Mental Retardation and Substance Abuse Services, appointed for an unexpired term, beginning on January 19, 2004, and ending January 11, 2007, to succeed Anita Smith Everett.

COMMERCE AND TRADE

Virginia Agricultural Council

Jean Brown, Oakland Green Farm, Post Office Box 154, **Lincoln,** Virginia 20160, Member, appointed on January 14, 2004, to serve at the pleasure of the Governor, beginning on January 14, 2004, to succeed Donald A. Davis.

Board for Barbers and Cosmetology

Jessie Harold Anders, 1838 Caty Sage Road, Elk Creek, Virginia 24326, Member, appointed on February 26, 2004, for an unexpired term, beginning on February 24, 2004, and ending June 30, 2006, to succeed Kenneth A. Staples.

Algie T. Howell III, 858 Ingleside Road, **Norfolk,** Virginia 23502, Member, appointed on February 23, 2004, for an unexpired term, beginning on January 1, 2004, and ending June 30, 2005, to succeed Algie T. Howell, Jr.

Auctioneers Board

Amy Reynolds Pence, 104 Melody Lane, SW, **Vienna,** Virginia 22180, Member, appointed on February 24, 2004, to serve an unexpired term beginning on January 15, 2004, and ending June 30, 2005, to succeed Beverly B. Darby.

EDUCATION

Board of Education

Isis M. Castro, 2404 Culpeper Road, **Alexandria,** Virginia 22308, Member, appointed on March 1, 2004, for a term of four years, beginning on January 30, 2004, and ending January 29, 2008, to succeed Ruby Wolfe Rogers.

Board of Visitors, Norfolk State University

Judith L. Rosenblatt, 212B 73rd Street, **Virginia Beach,** Virginia 23451, Member, appointed on February 23, 2004, for an unexpired term, beginning on January 1, 2004, and ending January 31, 2006, to succeed Caspa Harris, Jr.

Board of Trustees of the Roanoke Higher Education Authority

Wendy Zomparelli, 2644 Robin Hood Road, Roanoke, Virginia 24014, Member, appointed on January 30, 2004, for an unexpired term, beginning on January 1, 2004, and ending June 30, 2005, to succeed William Fralin.

Board of Visitors, University of Virginia and Affiliated Schools

Glassell Slaughter Fitz-Hugh, Jr., 302 Virginia Avenue, Richmond, Virginia 23226, Member, appointed on March 2, 2004, for a term of four years beginning on March 2, 2004, and ending March 1, 2008, to succeed Thomas Bliley.

W. Heywood Fralin, 2744 South Jefferson Street, Roanoke, Virginia 24014, Member, appointed on March 2, 2004, for a term of four years beginning on March 2, 2004, and ending March 1, 2008, to succeed William Goodwin.

Glynn D. Key, 1875 Taylor Street, NW, **Washington, District of Columbia** 20011, Member, appointed on March 2, 2004, for a term of four years beginning on March 2, 2004, and ending March 1, 2008, to succeed Charles Glazer.

Gordon F. Rainey, 4801 Pocahontas Avenue, **Richmond**, Virginia 23236, Member, appointed on March 2, 2004, for a term of four years beginning on March 2, 2004, and ending March 1, 2008, to succeed himself.

HEALTH AND HUMAN RESOURCES

Board of Medicine

Alvin Edwards, 614 Beechwood Drive, Charlottesville, Virginia 22901, Member, appointed on February 23, 2004, for an unexpired term, beginning on January 22, 2004, and ending June 30, 2005, to

succeed LaVert H. Taylor.

Board of Social Services

William P. Mitchell, 17 Welford Lane, Newport News, Virginia 23606, Member, appointed on February 13, 2004, for an unexpired term, beginning on December 18, 2003, and ending June 30, 2006, to succeed Mamie Locke.

PUBLIC SAFETY

Advisory Committee on Juvenile Justice

George Jeffrey Mason, 1013 Forest Lakes Circle, Chesapeake, Virginia 23322, Member, appointed on January 14, 2004, for an unexpired term, beginning on December 1, 2003, and ending June 30, 2007, to succeed Emily M. Bryant.

COMPACTS

Breaks Interstate Park Commission

James F. O'Quinn, Post Office Box D, **Haysi,** Virginia 24256, Member, appointed on February 24, 2004, for a term of four years, beginning on February 24, 2004, and ending February 23, 2008, to succeed Elster Stanley.

Delmarva Advisory Board

Kelvin Pettit, 19425 Dogwood Drive, **Melfa,** Virginia 23410, Member, appointed on February 20, 2004, for an unexpired term, beginning on November 14, 2003, and ending June 30, 2006, to succeed Alice B. Brown.

INDEPENDENT

Board of Trustees of the Virginia Retirement System

Judith Ewell, 301 Indian Springs Road, **Williamsburg,** Virginia 23185, Member, appointed on February 27, 2004, for a term of five years, beginning on March 1, 2004, and ending February 28, 2009, to succeed W. Mark Crain.