## **2004 SESSION**

049179540 **HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 426** 1 Offered February 25, 2004 2 3 Commending the Blessed Sacrament-Huguenot Academy football team. 4 Patrons—Ware, R.L. and Janis 5 6 WHEREAS, the conquest of the gigantic Goliath by the youthful David indicates the possibilities of 7 simple faith and unblinking courage; and 8 WHEREAS, the student-athlete of Blessed Sacrament-Huguenot Academy is disciplined in the virtues 9 of faith and courage; and 10 WHEREAS, the well-named Knights of Blessed Sacrament-Huguenot were runners-up for the Virginia Independent Schools Division 1 football championship in 2002; and 11 WHEREAS, the Knights of 2003, inspired by the achievement of their predecessors, compiled a 12 13 record of 10-1, losing only their last game of the regular season, and rallied to resoundingly defeat Isle of Wight, 31–0, to win the championship of the Virginia Independent Schools Division 1 football 14 15 conference: and WHEREAS, eight Knights earned placement on the First Team All-State Squad for 2003: Corey 16 17 Fulcher, defensive back; Thomas Konvicka, running back; Jeremiah Sexton, quarterback; Gabe Ward, linebacker; Nigel Whitenack, offensive tackle and defensive tackle; Rolfe Shiflett, offensive guard; Kyle 18 19 Jolly, defensive end; and Ben Pleasants, kicker; and 20 WHEREAS, three Knights earned placement on the Second Team All-State Squad for 2003: Thomas 21 Konvicka, linebacker; Kyle Jolly, tight end; and Noah Allen, kick and punt returner; and 22 WHEREAS, every individual Knight contributed to the team's championship season in 2003: Corey 23 Fulcher, Tim Konvicka, Thomas Konvicka, Drew Walker, Jeremiah Sexton, Mike Allen, Ben Pleasants, 24 John Graham, Noah Allen, Daniel Bendele, Phillip Sobers, Gabe Ward, Jack Murdock, Perry Woodard, 25 E. J. Nevers, J. T. DiFiglio, Nigel Whitenack, Chris Mercandante, Drew Murphy, Ryan McGinnis, Billy Bozard, E. B. Zirkle, Kenny Krajewski, Rolfe Shiflett, Brandon Pleasants, Gray Walker, Kevin Howard, 26 27 Chad Pleasants, Andy Purvis, and Kyle Jolly; and 28 WHEREAS, the Knights' coach, Mike Henderson, was named Coach of the Year for 2003 among all 29 coaches of football in the Virginia Independent Schools Association; and 30 WHEREAS, the Knights' assistant coaches include Tyson Shoch, Eric Jolly, C. J. Lindhjem, Kevin 31 Elliott, and Chet Ward; now, therefore, be it RESOLVED by the House of Delegates, the Senate concurring, That the General Assembly hereby 32 33 salute the exemplary performance in football of the Blessed Sacrament-Huguenot Knights of 2003 and 34 affirm their claim to the honored title of champions; and, be it

RESOLVED FURTHER, That the Clerk of the House of Delegates prepare a copy of this resolution
for presentation to Head Coach Mike Henderson in honor of the outstanding performance of the 2003
Blessed Sacrament-Huguenot football team.

HJ426