VIRGINIA ACTS OF ASSEMBLY -- 2004 SESSION

CHAPTER 56

An Act to amend and reenact § 3.1-1075 of the Code of Virginia, relating to the Sheep Board.

[S 150]

Approved March 8, 2004

Be it enacted by the General Assembly of Virginia:

1. That § 3.1-1075 of the Code of Virginia is amended and reenacted as follows:

§ 3.1-1075. Sheep Board membership; quorum.

A. The Board shall consist of twelve 12 members representing the sheep industry and industry support services. The Governor shall appoint three 12 individuals from nominations submitted by the Virginia Sheep Producers Association, Virginia sheep and wool marketing organizations, or other Virginia farm organizations representing sheep producers. Of the three members appointed by the Governor, One member shall represent the packing/processing/retailing segment of the industry, one shall represent the Virginia Livestock Markets Association, and one shall represent the purebred segment of the industry. The remaining nine members shall be the presidents of the nine wool pool organizations which represent the following areas: Augusta, Christiansburg/New River Valley, Southside Virginia, Rockingham, Clarke, Orange, Wythe/Bland, Highland, Russell/Tazewell/Scott appointed by the Governor as follows, with no more than one member appointed per county: three members who reside in the Southwest District; three members who reside in the Valley District; two members who reside in the Northern District; and one member who resides in the South Central District.

The following districts are designated for the purposes of this chapter:

Southwest District: Bland, Buchanan, Carroll, Craig, Dickenson, Floyd, Franklin, Giles, Grayson, Henry, Lee, Montgomery, Patrick, Pulaski, Roanoke, Russell, Scott, Smyth, Tazewell, Washington, Wise, and Wythe Counties.

Valley District: Alleghany, Augusta, Bath, Botetourt, Highland, Page, Rockbridge, Rockingham, and Shenandoah Counties.

Northern District: Albemarle, Caroline, Clark, Culpeper, Fairfax, Fauquier, Fluvanna, Fredrick, Goochland, Greene, Hanover, King George, Loudoun, Louisa, Madison, Nelson, Orange, Prince William, Rappahannock, Spotsylvania, Stafford, and Warren Counties.

South Central District: Accomack, Amelia, Amherst, Appomattox, Bedford, Brunswick, Buckingham, Campbell, Charles City, Charlotte, Chesapeake, Chesterfield, Cumberland, Dinwiddie, Essex, Gloucester, Greensville, Isle of Wight, James City, King and Queen, King William, Lancaster, Lunenburg, Mathews, Mecklenburg, Middlesex, New Kent, Northampton, Northumberland, Nottoway, Pittsylvania, Powhatan, Prince Edward, Prince George, Richmond, Southampton, Suffolk, Surry, Sussex, Virginia Beach, Westmoreland, and York Counties.

Terms of membership shall be for three years. Vacancies in appointed memberships may be filled in the same manner as the original appointment shall be filled pursuant to this section. No appointed member shall serve more than two consecutive terms.

In addition, the extension sheep specialist from Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University and the Commissioner of Agriculture and Consumer Services or his designee shall serve as nonvoting members.

B. Board members not representing agencies of the Commonwealth shall be reimbursed from the Fund for all reasonable and necessary expenses incurred in the performance of their duties as members of the Board.

C. Seven members shall constitute a quorum for the transaction of business.

D. The Board shall elect from its membership a chairman, a vice chairman and such other officers as it deems appropriate.

2. That this act shall not be construed to affect existing appointments for which the terms have not expired. However, any new appointments made after the effective date of this act shall be made in accordance with the provisions of this act.