SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 382

Confirming appointments by the Governor of certain agency heads and personnel.

Agreed to by the Senate, February 3, 2003 Agreed to by the House of Delegates, February 6, 2003

RESOLVED by the Senate, the House of Delegates concurring, That the General Assembly confirm the following interim appointments of certain agency heads and personnel made by Governor Mark R. Warner:

AGENCY HEADS

- **Alisa L. Bailey,** 901 East Byrd Street, **Richmond,** Virginia 23219, Executive Director of the Virginia Tourism Authority, effective January 15, 2003, to serve at the pleasure of the Governor, to succeed Rita D. McClenny.
- **Joseph A. Bowman,** 397 Azalea Avenue, **Richmond,** Virginia 23227-3697, Commissioner of the Department for the Blind and Vision Impaired, effective March 26, 2002, to serve at the pleasure of the Governor, to succeed W. Roy Grizzard.
- **Colbert L. Boyd,** 270 Franklin Road, SW, **Roanoke,** Virginia 24011-2215, Director of the Department of Veterans Affairs, effective April 15, 2002, to serve at the pleasure of the Governor, to succeed Theodore J. Mortensen.
- **Cheryl F. Clark,** 110 South Seventh Street, **Richmond,** Virginia 23219, Director of the Department of Information Technology, effective May 10, 2002, to serve at the pleasure of the Governor, to succeed Scott D. Fairholm.
- **Leonard G. Cooke**, 805 East Broad Street, **Richmond**, Virginia 23219, Director of the Department of Criminal Justice Services, effective June 1, 2002, to serve at the pleasure of the Governor, to succeed Joseph B. Benedetti.
- **J. Carlton Courter,** 1100 Bank Street, **Richmond,** Virginia 23219, Commissioner of the Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, effective April 11, 2002, to serve at the pleasure of the Governor, to succeed himself.
- **Carthan F. Currin III,** 701 East Franklin Street, **Richmond,** Virginia 23219, Executive Director of the Virginia Tobacco Indemnification and Community Revitalization Commission, effective June 4, 2002, to serve at the pleasure of the Governor, to succeed himself.
- **Jay W. DeBoer**, 1600 Forest Avenue, **Richmond**, Virginia 23229, Commissioner of the Department for the Aging, effective April 29, 2002, to serve at the pleasure of the Governor, to succeed Ann Y. McGee.
- **Jo Lynne DeMary**, 101 North 14th Street, **Richmond**, Virginia 23219, Superintendent of Public Instruction, effective April 2, 2002, to serve at the pleasure of the Governor, to succeed herself.
- **Dolores A. Esser,** 703 East Main Street, **Richmond,** Virginia 23219, Commissioner of the Virginia Employment Commission, effective March 25, 2002, to serve at the pleasure of the Governor, to succeed Thomas J. Towberman.
- **Claudia T. Farr,** 830 East Main Street, **Richmond,** Virginia 23219, Director of the Department of Employment Dispute Resolution, effective April 19, 2002, to serve at the pleasure of the Governor, to succeed Neil A. G. McPhie.
- **Leni Gonzalez,** 701 East Franklin Street, **Richmond,** Virginia 23219, Executive Director of the Virginia Business-Education Partnership, effective July 1, 2002, to serve at the pleasure of the Governor, to succeed Ronald L. Hedlund.
- **Ed Hamm, Jr.,** 202 North Ninth Street, **Richmond,** Virginia 23219, Director of the Department of Minority Business Enterprise, effective September 16, 2002, to serve at the pleasure of the Governor, to succeed Allegra McCullough.
- **Darrell V. Hill,** 707 East Main Street, **Richmond,** Virginia 23219, Executive Director of the Virginia Resources Authority, effective June 17, 2002, to serve at the pleasure of the Governor, to succeed Robert W. Lauterberg.
- **Gene M. Johnson,** 6900 Atmore Drive, **Richmond,** Virginia 23225, Director of the Department of Corrections, effective September 16, 2002, to serve at the pleasure of the Governor, to succeed Ronald J. Angelone.
- **Jerrauld C. Jones,** 700 Centre Building, **Richmond,** Virginia 23219, Director of the Department of Juvenile Justice Services, effective July 1, 2002, to serve at the pleasure of the Governor, to succeed David W. Marsden.
- **Maurice A. Jones,** 730 East Broad Street, **Richmond,** Virginia 23219, Commissioner of the Department of Social Services, effective October 10, 2002, to serve at the pleasure of the Governor, to

succeed Sonia I. Rivero.

Thomas A. Lainhoff, 10709 Gunston Road, **Lorton,** Virginia 22079-3901, Director of Gunston Hall Plantation, effective April 11, 2002, to serve at the pleasure of the Governor, to succeed himself. **Charles S. Macfarlane,** 5702 Gulfstream Road, **Richmond,** Virginia 23250-2422, Director of the

Charles S. Macfarlane, 5702 Gulfstream Road, **Richmond,** Virginia 23250-2422, Director of the Department of Aviation, effective May 1, 2002, to serve at the pleasure of the Governor, to succeed Kenneth F. Wiegand.

Joseph H. Maroon, 203 Governor Street, **Richmond,** Virginia 23219, Director of the Department of Conservation and Recreation, effective March 25, 2002, to serve at the pleasure of the Governor, to succeed David G. Brickley.

Rita D. McClenny, 901 East Byrd Street, **Richmond,** Virginia 23219, Acting Director of the Virginia Tourism Authority, effective March 8, 2002, to serve at the pleasure of the Governor, to succeed Gayle Morgan Vail.

William A. Pruitt, 2600 Washington Avenue, Newport News, Virginia 23607, Commissioner of the Marine Resources Commission, effective May 22, 2002, to serve at the pleasure of the Governor, to succeed himself.

Asbury W. Quillian, 2300 West Broad Street, **Richmond,** Virginia 23220, Commissioner of the Department of Motor Vehicles, effective May 3, 2002, to serve at the pleasure of the Governor, to succeed himself.

Karen J. Rae, 1401 East Broad Street, **Richmond,** Virginia 23219, Director of the Virginia Department of Rail and Public Transportation, effective August 26, 2002, to serve at the pleasure of the Governor, to succeed Leo J. Bevon.

James S. Reinhard, 1220 Bank Street, **Richmond**, Virginia 23219, Commissioner of the Department of Mental Health, Mental Retardation and Substance Abuse Services, effective March 25, 2002, to serve at the pleasure of the Governor, to succeed Richard E. Kellogg.

Philip A. Shucet, 1401 East Broad Street, **Richmond,** Virginia 23219, Commissioner of the Department of Transportation, effective April 15, 2002, to serve at the pleasure of the Governor, to succeed Charles D. Nottingham.

N. Jerry Simonoff, 110 South Seventh Street, **Richmond,** Virginia 23219, Director of the Department of Technology Planning, effective May 3, 2002, to serve at the pleasure of the Governor, to succeed himself.

Robert B. Stroube, 1500 East Main Street, **Richmond,** Virginia 23219, Commissioner of the Department of Health, effective May 21, 2002, to serve at the pleasure of the Governor, to succeed E. Anne Peterson.

Adam K. Thiel, 101 North 14th Street, **Richmond,** Virginia 23219, Director of the Department of Fire Programs, effective April 25, 2002, to serve at the pleasure of the Governor, to succeed Troy H. Lapetina.

Kenneth W. Thorson, 600 East Main Street, **Richmond,** Virginia 23219, Tax Commissioner, effective May 3, 2002, to serve at the pleasure of the Governor, to succeed Danny M. Payne.

Louise F. Ware, 3600 West Broad Street, **Richmond,** Virginia 23230, Director of the Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, effective April 29, 2002, to serve at the pleasure of the Governor, to succeed Jack E. Kotvas, Jr.

Claude A. Williams, Fort Pickett, **Blackstone,** Virginia 23824, Adjutant General, effective March 8, 2002, to serve at the pleasure of the Governor, to succeed himself.