# **SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 227**

Confirming certain appointments by Governor Warner.

Agreed to by the Senate, March 4, 2002 Agreed to by the House of Delegates, March 7, 2002

RESOLVED by the Senate, the House of Delegates concurring, That the General Assembly of Virginia confirm the following appointments made by Governor Mark R. Warner:

## AGENCY HEADS

- **Peggy J. Baggett,** 223 Governor Street, **Richmond,** Virginia 23219, Executive Director of the Commission for the Arts, effective January 12, 2002, to serve at the pleasure of the Governor, to succeed herself.
- **Richard D. Brown,** 202 North Ninth Street, **Richmond,** Virginia 23219, Director of the Department of Planning and Budget, effective January 12, 2002, to serve at the pleasure of the Governor, to succeed himself.
- **Robert G. Burnley,** 629 East Main Street, **Richmond,** Virginia 23219, Director of the Department of Environmental Quality, effective January 14, 2002, to serve at the pleasure of the Governor, to succeed Dennis H. Treacy.
- **Michael M. Cline**, 10501 Trade Court, **Richmond**, Virginia 23236-3713, State Coordinator of the Department of Emergency Services, effective January 12, 2002, to serve at the pleasure of the Governor, to succeed himself.
- **O. Gene Dishner,** 202 North Ninth Street, **Richmond,** Virginia 23219, Director of the Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy, effective February 5, 2002, to serve at the pleasure of the Governor, to succeed himself.
- **Jan B. Faircloth,** 444 North Capitol Street, Suite 214, **Washington,** D.C. 20001, Director of the Virginia Liaison Office, effective January 21, 2002, to serve at the pleasure of the Governor, to succeed Joseph E. Freeman III.
- Patrick W. Finnerty, 600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, Virginia 23219, Director of the Department of Medical Assistance Services, effective January 14, 2002, to serve at the pleasure of the Governor, to succeed Eric S. Bell.
- **James W. Garner**, 900 Natural Resources Drive, **Charlottesville**, Virginia 22903, Director of the Department of Forestry, effective January 12, 2002, to serve at the pleasure of the Governor, to succeed himself.
- **Martha H. Kilgore,** 701 East Franklin Street, Suite 501, **Richmond,** Virginia 23219, Executive Director of the Virginia Tobacco Settlement Foundation, effective January 12, 2002, to serve at the pleasure of the Governor, to succeed herself.
- **Kathleen S. Kilpatrick**, 2801 Kensington Avenue, **Richmond**, Virginia 23221, Director of the Department of Historic Resources, effective January 12, 2002, to serve at the pleasure of the Governor, to succeed herself.
- **Ronald L. Lanier**, 1602 Rolling Hills Drive, **Richmond**, Virginia 23229-5012, Director of the Department for the Deaf and Hard-of-Hearing, effective January 12, 2002, to serve at the pleasure of the Governor, to succeed himself.
- **Colonel W. Gerald Massengill,** 7700 Midlothian Turnpike, **Richmond,** Virginia 23235, Superintendent of the Department of State Police, effective January 12, 2002, to serve at the pleasure of the Governor, to succeed himself.
- **Walter A. McFarlane,** 101 North 14th Street, **Richmond,** Virginia 23219, Director of the Department of Correctional Education, effective January 12, 2002, to serve at the pleasure of the Governor, to succeed himself.
- **Charlie Mills III,** 707 East Main Street, **Richmond,** Virginia 23219, Director of the Department of Business Assistance, effective January 12, 2002, to serve at the pleasure of the Governor, to succeed David G. Dickson.
- **Robert A. Nebiker,** 6606 West Broad Street, **Richmond,** Virginia 23230-1717, Director of the Department of Health Professions, effective February 5, 2002, to serve at the pleasure of the Governor, to succeed John W. Hasty.
- **Ray D. Pethtel,** 1401 East Broad Street, **Richmond,** Virginia 23219, Interim Commissioner of the Department of Transportation, effective January 12, 2002, to serve at the pleasure of the Governor, to succeed Charles D. Nottingham.
- Rodney L. Phillips, 200-202 North Ninth Street, Suite 915, Richmond, Virginia 23219-3402, Administrator of the Milk Commission, effective February 5, 2002, to serve at the pleasure of the

Governor, to succeed himself.

**James Rothrock**, 8004 Franklin Farms Drive, **Richmond**, Virginia 23229, Commissioner of the Department of Rehabilitative Services, effective January 14, 2002, to serve at the pleasure of the Governor, to succeed H. Gray Broughton.

William C. Shelton, 501 North Second Street, Richmond, Virginia 23219, Director of the Department of Housing and Community Development, effective February 5, 2002, to serve at the

pleasure of the Governor, to succeed himself.

**Demerst B. Smit,** 200-202 North Ninth Street, **Richmond,** Virginia 23219, Director of the Department of General Services, effective February 7, 2002, to serve at the pleasure of the Governor, to succeed Donald C. Williams.

**Dietra Y. Trent,** 1100 Bank Street, **Richmond,** Virginia 23219, Director of the Council on Human Rights, effective January 22, 2002, to serve at the pleasure of the Governor, to succeed Roxie Raines Kornegay.

David A. Von Moll, 101 North 14th Street, Richmond, Virginia 23219, State Comptroller, effective

January 12, 2002, to serve at the pleasure of the Governor, to succeed himself.

**Jody M. Wagner**, 101 North 14th Street, **Richmond**, Virginia 23219, State Treasurer, effective January 12, 2002, to serve at the pleasure of the Governor, to succeed Mary G. Morris.

**Richard E. Williams, Jr.,** 900 East Main Street, **Richmond,** Virginia 23219, Executive Director of the Commission on Local Government, effective January 28, 2002, to serve at the pleasure of the Governor, to succeed George O'Neil Urquhart.

**Sara R. Wilson,** 101 North 14th Street, **Richmond,** Virginia 23219, Director of the Department of Human Resource Management, effective January 12, 2002, to serve at the pleasure of the Governor, to succeed herself.

# **EDUCATION Board of Education**

**Mark Emblidge,** 401 Stuart Circle, **Richmond,** Virginia 23220, Member, effective January 30, 2002, for a term of four years, ending January 29, 2006, to succeed Kirk T. Schroder.

**Thomas M. Jackson, Jr.,** 663 Commonwealth Road, **Galax,** Virginia 24333, Member, effective January 30, 2002, for a term of four years, ending January 29, 2006, to succeed Diane Atkinson.

## FINANCE

## **Commonwealth Performance Management Advisory Committee**

**Maurice A. Jones,** Post Office Box 1475, **Richmond,** Virginia 23218, Member, effective July 1, 2001, for a term of one year, ending June 30, 2002, to succeed William H. Leighty.

## **TRANSPORTATION**

## **Board of Commissioners, Virginia Port Authority**

**Ranjit Sen,** 7 Kanawha Plaza, **Richmond,** Virginia 23226, Member, effective February 4, 2002, for an unexpired term, ending January 30, 2006, to succeed William Prettyman pursuant to § 62.1-129 of the *Code of Virginia*.

## **INDEPENDENT**

## **Board of Trustees of the Virginia Retirement System**

**J. Douglas Conway, Jr.,** 7907 Chowning Road, **Richmond,** Virginia 23294, Member, effective February 6, 2002, for an unexpired term, ending February 28, 2003, to succeed W. Forrest Matthews, Jr. **Elise L. Emanuel,** 110 Willow Drive, **Williamsburg,** Virginia 23185, Chairman, effective February

6, 2002, for an unexpired term, ending February 28, 2002, to succeed W. Forrest Matthews.