2002 SESSION

020720476

1

2

3

4

5 6

7

SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 227

Offered February 6, 2002

Confirming certain appointments by Governor Warner.

Patron—Miller, K.G.

Referred to Committee on Privileges and Elections

8 RESOLVED by the Senate, the House of Delegates concurring, That the General Assembly of Virginia confirm the following appointments made by Governor Mark R. Warner: AGENCY HEADS Peggy J. Baggett, 223 Governor Street, Richmond, Virginia 23219, Executive Director of the 9 10 Commission for the Arts, effective January 12, 2002, to serve at the pleasure of the Governor, to succeed herself. Richard D. Brown, 202 North Ninth Street, Richmond, Virginia 23219, Director of the 11 12 Department of Planning and Budget, effective January 12, 2002, to serve at the pleasure of the 13 Governor, to succeed himself. Michael M. Cline, 10501 Trade Court, Richmond, Virginia 23236-3713, 14 State Coordinator of the Department of Emergency Services, effective January 12, 2002, to serve at the 15 pleasure of the Governor, to succeed himself. Jan B. Faircloth, 444 North Capitol Street, Suite 214, 16 Washington, D.C. 20001, Director of the Virginia Liaison Office, effective January 21, 2002, to serve 17 at the pleasure of the Governor, to succeed Joseph E. Freeman, III. James W. Garner, 900 Natural 18 Resources Drive, Charlottesville, Virginia 22903, Director of the Department of Forestry, effective 19 20 January 12, 2002, to serve at the pleasure of the Governor, to succeed himself. Ronald L. Lanier, 1602 21 Rolling Hills Drive, Richmond, Virginia 23229-5012, Director of the Department for the Deaf and Hard-Of-Hearing, effective January, 12, 2002, to serve at the pleasure of the Governor, to succeed himself. Colonel W. Gerald Massengill, 7700 Midlothian Turnpike, Richmond, Virginia 23235, 22 23 24 Superintendent of the Department of State Police, effective January 12, 2002, to serve at the pleasure of 25 the Governor, to succeed himself. Walter A. McFarlane, 101 North Fourteenth Street, Richmond, Virginia 23219, Director of the Department of Correctional Education, effective January 12, 2002, to 26 27 serve at the pleasure of the Governor, to succeed himself. Charlie Mills, III, 707 East Main Street, 28 **Richmond**, Virginia 23219, Director of the Department of Business Assistance, effective January 12, 29 2002, to serve at the pleasure of the Governor, to succeed David G. Dickson. Ray D. Pethtel, 1401 East 30 Broad Street, Richmond, Virginia 23219, Interim Commissioner of the Department of Transportation, 31 effective January 12, 2002, to serve at the pleasure of the Governor, to succeed Charles D. Nottingham. Dietra Y. Trent, 1100 Bank Street, Richmond, Virginia 23219, Director of the Council on Human 32 Rights, effective January 22, 2002, to serve at the pleasure of the Governor, to succeed Roxie Raines 33 Kornegay. David A. Von Moll, 101 North Fourteenth Street, Richmond, Virginia 23219, State Comptroller, effective January 12, 2002, to serve at the pleasure of the Governor, to succeed himself. 34 35 36 Jody M. Wagner, 101 North Fourteenth Street, Richmond, Virginia 23219, State Treasurer, effective 37 January 12, 2002, to serve at the pleasure of the Governor, to succeed Mary G. Morris. Richard E. Williams, Jr., 900 East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia 23219, Executive Director of the Commission 38 39 on Local Government, effective January 28, 2002, to serve at the pleasure of the Governor, to succeed George O'Neil Urquhart. Sara R. Wilson, 101 North Fourteenth Street, Richmond, Virginia 23219, 40 41 Director of the Department of Human Resource Management, effective January 12, 2002, to serve at the 42 pleasure of the Governor, to succeed herself. EDUCATION

Board of Education Mark Emblidge, 401 Stuart Avenue, Richmond, Virginia 23220, Member, effective 43 January 30, 2002, for a term of four years, ending January 29, 2006, to succeed Kirk T. Schroder. Thomas 44 M. Jackson, Jr., 663 Commonwealth Road, Galax, Virginia 24333, Member, effective January 30, 2002, for a term of four years, ending January 29, 2006, to succeed Diane Atkinson. FINANCE 45 46

47 Commonwealth Performance Management Advisory Committee Maurice A. Jones, P. O. Box 1475, Richmond, Virginia 23218, Member, effective July 1, 2001, for a term of one year, ending June 30, 2002, to 48 49 succeed William H. Leighty. TRANSPORTATION

Board of Commissioners, Virginia Port Authority Ranjit Sen, 7 Kanawha Plaza, Richmond, Virginia 50 51 23226, Member, effective February 4, 2002, for an unexpired term, ending January 30, 2006, to succeed 52 William Prettyman pursuant to § 62.1-129 of the Code of Virginia.