## 024133720

024133720

1

6

**7 8** 

9 10

11

12 13

14

15

16

17

18

19 20

21 22

23 24

25

26 27

29 30

31

32 33

34

35

36

**37** 

38

## **HOUSE BILL NO. 528**

Offered January 9, 2002 Prefiled January 8, 2002

A BILL to amend and reenact § 2.2-2514 of the Code of Virginia, relating to the Virginia Research and Technology Advisory Commission; membership.

## Patron—Devolites

Referred to Committee on Science and Technology

Be it enacted by the General Assembly of Virginia:

## 1. That § 2.2-2514 of the Code of Virginia is amended and reenacted as follows:

§ 2.2-2514. Membership; terms; vacancies; chairman.

A. Persons appointed to the Board shall be selected for their knowledge of, background in, or experience with basic and applied research, emerging technologies, commercialization of the results and outputs of research activities, and the development and financing of technology intensive enterprises.

- B. The Commission shall consist of twenty-seven thirty-seven members to be appointed as follows: two members of the House Committee on Science and Technology appointed by the Speaker of the House; the chairman of the Senate Committee on General Laws or his designee; and twenty citizen members representing institutions of higher education, federal laboratories, and research- and technology-intensive industries, six of whom shall be appointed by the Speaker of the House, four of whom shall be appointed by the Senate Committee on Privileges and Elections, and ten of whom shall be appointed by the Governor; the Secretaries of Commerce and Trade, Education, and Technology, or their designees; and the Director of the State Council of Higher Education for Virginia or herhis designee. The following members shall serve as ex officio members with voting power: The Vice Provosts of Research at the University of Virginia, Virginia Polytechnic and State University, George Mason University, James Madison University, The College of William and Mary, Old Dominion University and Virginia Commonwealth University; The Director of Jefferson Laboratories or his designee, the Executive Director of the Naval Surface Warfare Center, Dahlgren Division or his designee, and the Director of the NASA Langley Research Center or his designee. Legislative members shall be appointed to serve terms coincident with their terms of office. The citizen members shall be appointed for terms of four years, except that appointments to fill vacancies shall be for the unexpired term. Vacancies shall be filled in the manner of the original appointments.
- C. The Governor shall designate one member representing Virginia's research universities and one member representing the private sector as cochairs.
- D. A majority of the members of the Commission shall constitute a quorum. Commission meetings shall be upon the call of the cochairs.
- E. Members of the Commission shall receive compensation and be entitled to be reimbursed for all reasonable and necessary expenses incurred in the discharge of their duties as provided in §§ 2.2-2104, 2.2-2813, 2.2-2823, 2.2-2825 and 30-19.12.