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DEPARTMENT OF TAXATION
2001 Fiscal Impact Statement

. Patron Tate 2. Bill Number HB 2815
House of Origin:
. Committee House Finance X Introduced
______ Substitute
Engrossed
. Title  Penalty for Failure to File Certain Tax
Returns Second House:
In Committee
Substitute
Enrolled
Summary/Purpose:

This bill would limit any penalty either the Department of Taxation or the Virginia
Employment Commission (VEC) is allowed to impose for failure to file a tax return or
report to two times the amount of the tax due on the return.

The effective date of this bill is not specified.

Fiscal Impact Estimates are: Not Available. (See Line 8.)

Budget amendment necessary: No.

Fiscal implications:

Administrative Cost — Department of Taxation

While this bill does have costs associated with systems development, these cannot be
ascertained at this time. The cost for implementing a single piece of legislation cannot
be calculated precisely due to economies of scale. The actual cost to implement all
legislation enacted during a given session will more than likely be less than the sum of
the costs attributed to individual bills. Further, the ability to accurately predict costs is
complicated because TAX is replacing its current database system. As a result,
legislative changes may need to be made to both the current and the future system,
depending on the effective date. Therefore, TAX is not providing specific systems costs
for this bill, but will calculate the total for all tax bills once they have been acted upon
favorably in both houses and prior to the conference committee report. Other
administrative costs to implement this bill would be minimal.
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Administrative Cost — Virginia Employment Commission

The VEC has indicated that they would incur minimal administrative costs as a result of
this bill.

Revenue Impact — Department of Taxation

The impact this bill would have on General Fund revenues is unknown. For taxes
administered by the department, this bill would only effect taxpayers who have minimal
or no tax liability and are subject to a tax with mandatory filing requirements and have a
minimum penalty for non-filers. Since the department does not keep records on the
number of minimum penalties assessed, the effect on the General Fund cannot be
determined.

Revenue Impact — Virginia Employment Commission

According to the VEC, revenues for the Special Unemployment Compensation
Administration Fund (a non-general fund) would decrease by $1.08 million. This
estimate is based on an average of 15,000 reports that are not filed each quarter. Of
these non-filed reports, about 60% owe no tax. The VEC imposes a minimum $30
penalty for failure to file withholding reports.

9. Specific agency or political subdivisions affected:

Department of Taxation
Virginia Employment Commission

10.Technical amendment necessary: None.
11.0ther comments:
Current Law

The maximum non-fraud penalty for failure to file an individual income tax return is 30%
of the tax due. There is no minimum penalty for individual income tax purposes. The
maximum non-fraud penalty for failure to file a corporate income tax return is 30% of the
tax due. The minimum penalty for failing to file a corporate income tax return is $100.
Both income taxes allow a 100% penalty for failing to file a return if fraud is involved.

For retail sales and use tax purposes, the maximum non-fraud penalty for failure to file a
return is 30%. The minimum penalty for failure to file a sales tax return is $10. A 50%
penalty is allowed for failing to file a return if fraud is involved. For withholding tax
purposes, the maximum penalty for failure to file a return is 30%. The minimum penalty
for failure to file a withholding tax return is $10. The minimum penalties under the
corporate income tax, the withholding tax, and the retail sales and use tax are intended
to support the compliance efforts of the department.
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All employers are required by Virginia (Code of Virginia § 60.2-513) and federal law
(Social Security Act § 1137(a)(3)) to file wage reports, regardless of whether they owe
taxes. The VEC imposes a $30 penalty on employers who fail to file any report required
of him with respect to wages and taxes. The $30 penalty that the VEC charges for late
filing is to ensure compliance with federal law and to make a wide range of accurate and
timely labor market statistics available. The wage reports also provide important
economic information on many items such as labor market information, average weekly
wages for industry types, and high demand occupations. This information is essential to
Virginia’s economic development efforts.

Proposal

This bill would limit any penalty either the Department of Taxation or the Virginia
Employment Commission is allowed to impose for failure to file a tax return or report to
two times the amount of the tax due on the return.

This proposal would not effect any penalties imposed under the individual income tax.

This proposal would however limit the minimum penalties for failing to file a return the
department can impose under the corporate income tax, the withholding tax, and the
retail sales and use tax.

The penalty would be limited under this bill for all corporate income tax non-filers with a
tax due of under $50. For withholding tax and retail sales and use tax purposes, the
penalty would be limited for all non-filer returns with a tax due of less than $5. For a non-
filer with a $0 tax due return for either the corporate income tax, the withholding tax or the
retail sales and use tax, the department would not be permitted to impose any penalty
on the taxpayer for not filing a return.

The current VEC penalty would be limited on all non-filed reports with a tax due of less
than $15. For a non-filer with a $0 tax due VEC report, the VEC would not be allowed to
impose any penalty on the employer for not filing a report.

cc. Secretary of Finance
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