## 2001 SESSION

## SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 509

Commending those who provided support services to the USS Cole.

Agreed to by the Senate, February 22, 2001 Agreed to by the House of Delegates, February 24, 2001

WHEREAS, the USS *Cole*, under the command of Kirk S. Lippold, Commander, USN, suffered a deadly terrorist attack in the port of Aden, Yemen, on October 12, 2000; and

WHEREAS, 17 members of the crew of the USS *Cole* were killed in the attack, and 39 more were wounded; and

WHEREAS, the United States Navy mustered its forces deployed at sea, as well as those ashore, to provide aid, comfort, and all manner of support to the surviving officers and crew and their dependents and other loved ones at home; and

WHEREAS, among those providing assistance were Rear Admiral James B. Foley, Commander Surface Force, U.S. Atlantic Fleet, and the following personnel of his command: Captain Robert Perry, Captain Ray Snell, Captain James Nickols, Master Chief Fire Controlman William Slingerland, Captain Francis Russo, Journalist First Class William Taylor, Journalist First Class Janet Davis, Lieutenant David Brownell, Captain Timothy Cepak, Commander Robert Barwis, Commander Robert Pipkin, Captain Konrad Hayashi, Commander James Laury, Ms. Sherri Titus, Ms. Linda Fentress, Lieutenant David Lee, Lieutenant Commander Mike Palmer, Lieutenant Commander Dave Chapman, Lieutenant Junior Grade Eric Thomas, Lieutenant Betty Hill, Senior Chief Hull Technician Peter Bustonoby, Master Chief Quartermaster Andrew Stout, Chief Aviation Electronics Technician Glen Gaynor, Aviation Electronics Technician Third Class Bonnie White, Lieutenant Commander Stephen Hall, Ensign Tami Thielke, and Lieutenant Junior Grade Rachel Nagle; and

WHEREAS, also instrumental in supporting the USS *Cole's* crew and their families were Rear Admiral Christopher Cole, Commander Navy Region Mid-Atlantic, and the following personnel from his command: Captain Stephen Barker, Captain Chip Slaven, Captain Joseph Bouchard, Commander Jamie Orr, Lieutenant Paula Sawdy-Bowes, Ms. Joy Johnson, Ms. Lottie Hayes, Ms. Christina Geisler, Master Chief Machinist Mate Georgia Monsam, Ms. Kathleen Struble, and Ms. Catherine Stokoe; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED by the Senate, the House of Delegates concurring, That the General Assembly commend the many individuals who played a key role in providing crucial support to the officers and crew of the USS *Cole* in the aftermath of the October 12, 2000, terrorist attack; and, be it

RESOLVED FURTHER, That the Clerk of the Senate transmit copies of this resolution to Rear Admiral James B. Foley, Commander Surface Force, U.S. Atlantic Fleet, and Rear Admiral Christopher Cole, Commander Navy Region Mid-Atlantic, as an expression of the General Assembly's admiration and gratitude for their timely and effective reaction to the USS *Cole* attack.