2

2/11/23 2:15

SENATE BILL NO. 978

Senate Amendments in [] — January 17, 2001

A BILL to amend and reenact § 6 of Chapter 548 of the Acts of Assembly of 1998, relating to members of the Chesapeake Bay Bridge and Tunnel Commission; appointment of certain elected officials prohibited.

Patron Prior to Engrossment—Senator Norment

Referred to Committee on Transportation

Be it enacted by the General Assembly of Virginia:

1. That § 6 of Chapter 548 of the Acts of Assembly of 1998 is amended and reenacted as follows:

§ 6. Chesapeake Bay Bridge and Tunnel Commission.—A Commission, to be known as the "Chesapeake Bay Bridge and Tunnel Commission," is hereby created as the governing board of the Chesapeake Bay Bridge and Tunnel District created by this act. The Commission shall consist of the following eleven members: (i) one member of the Commonwealth Transportation Board, (ii) two members from Accomack County, (iii) two members from Northampton County, (iv) one member from the City of Portsmouth, (v) one member from the City of Chesapeake, (vi) one member from the City of Hampton, (vii) one member from the City of Newport News, (viii) one member from the City of Norfolk, and (ix) one member from the City of Virginia Beach. The members of said Commission appointed under the provisions of this section shall be residents of the counties or cities from which they are appointed.

Any member of the Commission appointed or reappointed on or after July 1, 1998, shall be appointed by the Governor, subject to confirmation by each house of the General Assembly. On or after July 1, [2001 2003], local elected officials and members of the General Assembly shall be ineligible for appointment to the Commission. Commission members shall be appointed to four-year terms. Any member of the Commission shall be eligible for reappointment to a second four-year term, but, except for appointments to fill vacancies for portions of unexpired terms, shall be ineligible for appointment to any additional term. When a vacancy in the membership occurs, the Governor shall appoint a new member to complete the unexpired portion of the term, subject to confirmation by each house of the General Assembly.

The Commission shall select a chairman annually from its membership. Within thirty days after the appointment of the original members of the Commission, the Commission shall meet on the call of any member and elect one of its members as chairman and another as vice-chairman. The Commission shall employ a secretary and treasurer (who may or may not be a member of the Commission) and if not a member of the Commission, fix his compensation and duties. Any member of the Commission may be removed from office [either (i) by a majority vote of both houses of the General Assembly or (ii)] for cause by the Governor. Each member of the Commission, immediately following his appointment, shall take an oath of office, prescribed by Article II, Section 7 of the Constitution of Virginia, before any judge of any court of record in this State. No member of the Commission shall receive any salary but shall be entitled to expenses and the per diem pay allowed members of the Commonwealth Transportation Board. Six members of the Commission shall constitute a quorum. The records of the Commission shall be public records. The Commission is authorized to do all things necessary or incidental to the performance of its duties and the execution of its powers under this act. The route for any bridge or tunnel or combination thereof, built by the Commission, shall be selected, subject to the approval of the Commonwealth Transportation Board.